YS Jagan, YS Vijayamma resign over Telangana

YS Jagan, YS Vijayamma resign over Telangana - Sakshi Post

Protesting against the attitude of Congress party on the bifurcation of state, YSR Congress Party president YS Jagan Mohan Reddy and honorary president YS Vijayamma on Saturday announced their resignations to their posts.

Pulivendula MLA Vijayamma has faxed her resignation to Speaker Nadendla Manohar, while Kadapa MP Jagan Mohan Reddy, sent his resignation to Lok Sabha Speaker Meera Kumar.

The resignations were announced by party senior leaders Mekapati Rajamohana Reddy and MV Mysoora Reddy at a press conference in Hyderabad.

"Jagan Mohan Reddy faxed his resignation letter to Lok Sabha Speaker through the  jail authorities. It will also be sent by post," Mekapati said.

The resignations are in protest against the "double standards" of Congress and the "unilateral" decision taken on the division of the state without taking the feelings of the stakeholders into consideration, he asserted.

“We have been advocating time and again that the Centre should first spell out its stand and the proposal should be put forth for discussion before all stake holders and political parties before taking a final decision which would be agreeable to all parties concerned. But that was not the case,” Vijayamma, Jagan said in an open letter to public.

In the letter, they also mentioned "Congress made the issue of the division of the state as its own party affair and the latest proof is the AK Antony Committee coming on to the stage. Instead of appointing a Government Committee where all stakeholders can present their respective viewpoint, it has gone domestic by appointing the Antony Committee without showing scant respect to the sentiments of the people."

They also said that TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu has given his consent for the bifurcation like a blank cheque and affirmed that there is no going back on the issue when AP NGOs approached him recently. (Full letter)

It's worth mentioning here that 16 MLAs of YSRCP submitted their resignation from the Assembly membership two days before the Congress came out with its decision on July 30 to bifurcate the state and grant statehood to Telangana.

Mekapati sent his resignation to the Lok Sabha Speaker on August 5.

It is a known fact that Jagan had won from Kadapa with a margin of 5,21,000 votes while Vijayamma won with a majority of 85,191 votes in Pulivendula Assembly constituency.

- Sakshipost

Read More:

Back to Top