Three LS constituencies in Hyderabad record lowest polling

Three LS constituencies in Hyderabad record lowest polling - Sakshi Post

Three parliamentary constituencies in Hyderabad recorded the lowest polling in Telangana, where elections were held Wednesday, authorities said Saturday.

Among all the 17 Lok Sabha constituencies, Malkajgiri recorded the lowest turnout at 51.19 percent. Hyderabad and Secunderabad Lok Sabha constituencies recorded 52.52 and 53.28 percent turnout respectively.

The highest polling of 88.99 percent was registered in Bhongir constituency in Nalgonda district.

Three days after the polling, the election authorities released the turnout figures.

Chief Electoral Officer Bhanwarlal said 70.85 percent of 28.17 million electors cast their votes in the first phase of elections April 30 for 119 assembly and 17 Lok Sabha seats in Telangana. In 2009, the turnout was 68.71 percent.

The turnout in Mahabubabad parliamentary constituency was 80.58, while in Khammam it was 80 percent. The polling in eight constituencies was 75 percent or more.

Bhanwarlal said except in Hyderabad, the polling percentage was in excess of 70 percent. He hoped that the turnout will be higher in Seemandhra, where elections to 25 Lok Sabha and 175 assembly seats are scheduled May 7.

Back to Top