TRS Faces A Tough Challenge in Armoor, May Pull It Off In Bodhan

Congress candidate Akula Laitha - Sakshi Post

Armoor: Armoor constituency is in Nizamabad district and was represented in the recently dissolved house by Asannagari Jeevan Reddy, from the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS). The runner-up in the last election held in 2014 is Suresh Reddy from the Congress party. The total votes polled for the Jeevan Reddy are 67,000 votes of the total 1,78,786 votes in the constituency.

The constituency is seen as a bastion of the Congress, which has held the seat thrice in 1978, 1983, 1989 (by Santosh Reddy) but was later wrested by TDP leader Mahipal Reddy for a term and was later regained by the Congress. This constituency currently rests in the hands of TRS. Congress has given the ticket to Akula Laitha, while TRS has given the ticket to the Jeevan Reddy.

Suresh Reddy, the runner-up in 2014 elections is from the Congress party and was also the speaker of the Assembly in ertswhile Andhra Pradesh.

Bodhan: Bodhan constituency falls under the the Lok Sabha constituency of Nizamabad. In the recently dissolved assembly, this constituency was represented by Mohammed Shakil Amir of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS).

In the Bodhan constituency, as per the 2018 electoral list, the constituency has 1,76,389 voters of which TRS candidate Mohammed Shakil Aamir secured 67,426 votes and the runner up Sudershan from Congress secured 51,543 votes. With a total majority of 15 thousand plus votes, Shakil won the elections. This Constituency was represented for a long time by Congress leader Sudharshan Reddy, who won the seat in 1999, 2004, 2009 before the 2014 elections. This time again Sudharshan Reddy and Shakil Amir are all set to face off at the hustings.

Also Read: If Chandrababu Built Hyderabad, Should Quli Qutub Shah Commit Suicide?: KCR

Also Read: Jana Reddy Beats A Hasty Retreat From Nagarjunapet

Read More:

Back to Top