Suryapet Could Swing Congress Way, TRS May Retain Jukkal

Ramireddy Damodar Reddy from Congress - Sakshi Post

Suryapet assembly constituency is one of the 4 constituencies in Suryapet district and was held in the recently dissolved House by Gunthakandla Jagadeesh Reddy of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS). The seat was represented in the previous term by senior Congressman Ramireddy Damodar Reddy who is once again in the fray with an advantage as reports from the ground suggest.

Suryapet has four mandals, Suryapet, Chivvemla, Athmakur and Penpahad and has a voter base of close to 1,90,000 voters. Jagadish Reddy of the TRS will find the going tough this time around, as things appear. BJP State vice-president Sankineni Venkateshwar Rao is a formidable opponent as well.

Jukkal(SC) Assembly constituency is a part of the Zahirabad Lok Sabha constituency and is a SC reserved constituency. It is one of the 9 constituencies in Nizamabad district.

In the recently dissolved assembly, Jukkal was represented by Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) leader Hanmanth Shinde, who defeated was Gangaram S of the Congress party. The TRS candidate won with a clear majority with 72,000 votes being polled for him. His nearest rival was the Congress candidate with 27,000 votes. TDP has won the seat on more occasions in the past elections.

TRS candidate and winner of 2014 polls, Hanmanth Shinde is again contesting the elections, and is going to lock horns with Gangaram S from the Congress.

Also Read: Narsampet To Remain A Hard Nut To Crack For TRS?

Back to Top