HC Stays Earlier Order Challenging TS Govt In Komatireddy Contempt Case

Congress MLAs Komatireddy Venkata Reddy and S A Sampath Kumar - Sakshi Post

Hearing the contempt plea filed by two Congress MLAs, Komatireddy Venkata Reddy and S A Sampath Kumar, over non-restoration of their membership in the House, a division bench stayed the judgement of a single bench's ruling over issue of Form-1 notices to the officials of the State Assembly, for two months. On Tuesday, the division bench accepted an appeal petition filed by former attorney general Mukul Rohatgi on behalf of the Telangana government.

Earlier, acting on the single bench's orders, the High Court issued the notices to Telangana Assembly Speaker S Madhusudhana Chary, Assembly Secretary V Narasimha Charyulu and Law Secretary V Niranjan Rao, for not complying with its orders pertaining to the restoration of the membership of the two MLAs in the Assembly. Later this month, the hearing before the single judge bench was set to take place.

Komatireddy Venkata Reddy and S A Sampath Kumar were expelled from the State Assembly for indulging in unruly activities during the Governor's address to the joint sitting of Telangana legislature. However, the High Court on April 17 deemed the expulsion from the Assembly invalid.

Later in June, the Congress leaders filed a contempt petition against the Assembly officials for not following the Court's order.

Also Read: Komatireddy, Sampath Get Relief Through HC

Back to Top