Telangana Congress Bigwigs Hit Streets To Protest Party Merger       

TPCC chief N Uttam Kumar Reddy - Sakshi Post

Hyderabad: The Telangana Congress leadership took to streets to protest the decision of 12 Congress MLAs to submit a representation to merge the Congress Legislative Party into ruling TRS. The Congress bigwigs announced that they are in no mood to forgive and forget the “excesses” of the K Chandrashekar Rao-led government.

Soon after the news went around of Congress turncoats calling on Speaker Pocharam Srinivasa Reddy to press for their demand of merger, Telangana Congress President N Uttam Kumar Reddy and senior leaders Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, Shabbir Ali, D Sridhar Babu, and Jagga Reddy rushed to Speaker’s Office in the Assembly premises only to find him unavailable. The Congress contingent with black ribbons to their faces sat down in protest in front of the Assembly.

Former Rajya Sabha MP V Hanumanth Rao held a sit-in right in the middle of the arterial road opposite Assembly resulting in the heavy vehicular traffic coming to a standstill.

An official statement is expected to be issued by the Speaker by the end of Thursday. Once the official confirmation is made about the merger of CLP into TRS LP, the Congress party is planning to move the High Court with a petition urging for disqualification of all the MLAs who shifted their loyalties.

Coming down heavily on TRS leadership, Uttam Kumar Reddy alleged that the ruling party under K Chandrashekar Rao was undermining democracy by completely dismantling the Opposition. “Why should people vote? Where is the respect for their vote? I don’t see any reason why there should be an Assembly and Speaker. They hold no sanctity,” a furious Reddy breathed fire on KCR.

With 12 MLAs who won on Congress ticket switching over to TRS and Uttam Kumar Reddy resigning as MLA from Huzurnagar, the Congress’ presence in Assembly will be reduced to six out from 19 seats the party won in Assembly elections in December 2018.

Also Read: Telangana Congress To Lose Opposition Party Status After 12 MLAs Join TRS

Read More:

Back to Top