Telangana Elections: Kingmakers Galore Before Results

Bharatiya Janata Party supporters at an election campaign rally addressed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Hyderabad - Sakshi Post

Anvesh Reddy

Two days after the smooth and peaceful polling process for Assembly seats in Telangana, political parties are yet to find something to cheer about with respect to results. In a case where the prediction of election results became a hard nut to crack despite majority exit polls projecting a one-sided sweep by the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), the Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) Telangana unit, in a sensational political move that could have repercussions in New Delhi, expressed interest in supporting the TRS minus the All India Majlis-e-Ittehad-ul Muslimeen (AIMIM).

Pre-poll, the MIM supported the TRS candidates in the rest of the eight constituencies it contested in the 119 seat Assembly. The BJP, however, for the first time in the recent times, went for polls alone in Telangana, hoping to be the kingmaker, if not the king. The party's national President Amit Shah branded MIM the B-team of the Congress party, in his election campaign.

While it is pertinent to note that the Praja Kutami led by the Congress and the TRS are confident of enjoying a comfortable majority, the BJP desires to play the role of a kingmaker, should there be a hung scenario on December 11, the D-day.

Naturally, the BJP is inclined to support the TRS, a non-Congress, non-MIM party. However, BJP State president Dr K Lakshman said the party would offer its support to TRS only if MIM has nothing to do with it.

Reacting to the proposal, former Union Minister Purandheswari said that the BJP is ready to offer conditional support to TRS. The Congress's alliance with TDP is unethical, she added.

Nevertheless, the TRS and Praja Kutami would be hoping for a clean majority for themselves on the counting day. If the trends in exit polls are of any merit, it looks like a dozen independent, BSP and BLF candidates will pull off a win in their respective constituencies.

Stay tuned for more updates on Telangana election results.

Also Read: Chandrababu Posing As National Level Leader, Will Backfire On Him: TRS MP Kavitha

Read More:

Back to Top