Adverse Conditions For TRS In Manthani, Peddapalle  

Congress leader D Sridhar Babu - Sakshi Post

The Manthani assembly constituency in the undivided Karimnagar district, which is traditionally known as a Congress stronghold, was represented by TRS leader Putta Madhu, who defeated former minister Duddilla Sridhar Babu by 19,360 votes. While the TRS secured 84,037 votes, the Congress obtained 64,677 votes in the 2014 Assembly elections, the first such elections after the State was formed in June the same year.

In all likelihood, Putta Madhu's involvement in several controversies over the four years take a toll on the TRS's winning chances in the constituency. Sridhar Babu, with a strong cadre and experience as a minister, has an edge over TRS in the December 7 polls.

Thanks to the massive TRS wave after Telangana's formation, the Peddapalle assembly constituency in the undivided Karimnagar district paved way for the party's victory in 2014 elections. While TRS candidate Manohar Reddy secured 96,220 votes, Congress candidate T Bhanu Prasad Rao amassed 33,543 votes. Reports of anti-incumbency in the constituency came out in the recent times and it is believed that TRS MP Balka Suman was shifted to the Chennur Assembly constituency for the same reason.

TDP candidate in 2014, Chinthakunta Vijayaramana Rao, who is with the Congress currently, will have an advantage over the TRS in the constituency. He won as a TDP MLA in 2009.

Watch this space for more updates on Telangana Assembly elections 2018.

Also Read: Zaheerabad Should Stay With Congress, TRS May Retain Patancheru, Dubbak

Also Read: TRS, Congress To Battle It Out In Ramagundam, Dharmapuri

Read More:

Back to Top