Nalgonda May Remain Congress Bastion, TRS Might Retain Devarakonda   

Komatireddy Venkat Reddy - Sakshi Post

Nalgonda assembly constituency falls under the Nalgonda Lok Sabha seat. It is one of the 12 assembly seats in the combined Nalgonda district before it was reorganised. The constituency has Nalgonda, Madgulapally, Kanagal and Thipparthy mandals in it. The seat was held in the recently dissolved House by the Congress heavyweight Komatireddy Venkat Reddy. The senior Congress leader who wields considerable influence in the entire erstwhile Nalgonda distict, defeated his nearest rival, Kancharla Bhupal Reddy of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) by over 10,000 votes in 2014. Interestingly the TRS has nominated Kancharla Bhupal Reddy once again, but he is up against a very formidable rival in the form of the four-time MLA, Komatireddy Venkat Reddy. Nalgonda has close to 2,00,000 voters. In all likelihood, the TRS candidate does not stand much of a chance against the veteran Congress politician.

Kancharla Bhupal Reddy

Devarakonda (ST) assembly constituency is an ST reserved constituency and is a part of the Nalgonda Lok Sabha seat. It is one of the 12 seats in erstwhile Nalgonda deistrict. The constituency comprises Devarakonda, Chinthapally, Gundlapally, Pedda Adiserla Pally, Chandampet, Neredugomma and Konda Mallepally mandals. It was won by Ravindra Kumar Ramavath in 2014, who contested on a CPI ticket and later joined the TRS. Ramavath defeated his nearest rival Bheelya Naik Kethavath of the TDP in a close contest. Ravindra Kumar Ramavath has been renominated by the TRS. He takes on Balu Naik of the Congress and as things stand, should get re-elected, according to reports from the ground.

Ravindra Kumar Ramavath

Devarakonda has a voter base of over 1,87,000 voters.

Also Read: Astrologers Prediction For Telangana Political Parties in Elections

Read More:

Back to Top