Khammam: A Battle Between TDP and TRS   

Nama Nageswara Rao, Puvvada Ajay Kumar - Sakshi Post

The Mahakutami or Grand Alliance has assigned the Khammam seat to former MP and infrastructure magnate, Nama Nageswara Rao. The former LS member who owned Madhucon projects earlier will now take on Puvvada Ajay Kumar of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), who won the Khammam assembly seat in 2014.

Ajay Kumar has already hit the campaign trail and is ahead in terms of his outreach so far. The TDP has suddenly turned this into a David and Goliath fight by nominating Nageswara Rao.

The TDP probably reckons that because of its proximity to Andhra, Khammam will vote for the party as it did in the past. Added to this, is the belief that Khammam is high on the list of seats where 'settlers' hold the key.

Many of the TDP leaders have since migrated to the TRS and have lent muscle to the party. It now remains to be seen whether Nama Nageswara Rao will be successful in wresting the seat from the TRS for the TDP.

Also Read: Telangana Congress-TDP Candidates List Out, What Next?

Read More:

Back to Top