Telangana Congress Gears Up For Early Polls

Uttam Kumar Reddy - Sakshi Post

Hyderabad: Ahead of the ensuing Assembly elections in Telangana, the Congress party on Wednesday constituted nine committees besides naming two working presidents of the state unit.

A. Revanth Reddy, who had quit Telugu Desam Party (TDP) to join Congress late last year, and former Member of Parliament Ponnam Prabhakar were appointed working presidents.

Congress President Rahul Gandhi constituted a 15-member core committee which will be headed by R.C. Khuntia, a central leader in-charge of party affairs in Telangana. Other members include AICC secretaries N.S. Bose Raju, Saleem Ahmed and Srinivas Krishnan and party's Telangana unit President N. Uttam Kumar Reddy.

Khuntia will also be chairman of 53-member coordination committee, which will have Uttam Kumar Reddy as convener. The party's working President in Telangana, Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, will head a 17-member campaign committee.

Also Read: Congress Party Would Not Name CM Candidate In Telangana

Rahul Gandhi also constituted 41-member Pradesh Election Committee, which will be headed by Uttam Kumar Reddy. Former Deputy Chief Minister of undivided Andhra Pradesh, Damodar Rajanarasimha will be the chairman of the manifesto committee. Senior leader V. Hanumantha Rao will head Strategy and Planning Committee.

The central leadership has also announced a nine-member panel for coordination with the Election Commission. It will be headed by Marri Sashidhar Reddy.

Telangana Assembly was dissolved early this month to pave way for early elections, which may be held in November-December.


Read More:

Back to Top