Congress Appoints An Army Of Committees To Fight Telangana Polls

New TPCC working presidents Revanth Reddy and Ponnam Prabhakar - Sakshi Post

Hyderabad: With an eye on regaining power in poll-bound Telangana, the All India Congress Committee (AICC), with its traditional approach in fighting elections, announced an array of committees considering various social communities in the State. On Wednesday, the Congress announced 10 committees with a view to mobilize its cadre in the lead up to the Telangana Assembly elections. Despite several Congress leaders giving requests and pressurizing to allot the committee on election campaign, the Congress top leadership took the decision keeping its best interests in mind.

In a shocking decision to the aspirants of Elections Committee, the Congress chose TPCC working president Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka as the Chairman of the Committee. Former ministers Komatireddy Venkat Reddy, DK Aruna, senior leaders Jaipal Reddy, V Hanumantha Rao, and MLA Revanth Reddy were hoping for the post. However, DK Aruna was given the post of Co-chairman of the Election Committee while party spokesperson Dr Dasoju Sravan was appointed as the Committee convenor. Former MLA Jagga Reddy, booked by the Telangana police recently in a case involving human trafficking, Youth Congress leader Karthik Reddy and OUJAC leaders, and others find a place in the Committee.

The responsibility of handling the Manifesto has also been given to former Deputy Chief Minister Damodar Rajanarsimha, while Komatireddy Venkat Reddy has been appointed as the Co-chairman of the Manifesto Committee as the Chairman of Publicity Committee. It is learnt that TPCC Chief Uttam Kumar Reddy and working president Bhatti Vikramarka have been instrumental in deciding on the Committee members.

Revanth Reddy & Ponnam Prabhakar were made Telangana Congress Working Presidents. With the new appointments, one working president each from the SC, BC and OC communities will lead the Congress in the State.

Meanwhile former Congress legislature party leader Jana Reddy was not given the responsibilities of any committee, former PCC Presidents V Hanumantha Rao and Ponnala Lakshmaiah have been included in the party''s core committee, coordination committee and election committee. Also, Ponnala Lakshmaiah has been included in Manifesto Committee while V Hanumantha Rao has been given the responsibility to head the party's strategy and planning committee. The committee includes party bigwigs Jaipal Reddy, Sarve Satyanarayana, Jeevan Reddy, Madhu Yaski and MLC Ponguleti Sudhakar Reddy.

Komatireddy Brothers In Key Congress Committees

The Congress appointed Komatireddy Venkat Reddy as the Chairman of party's publicity committee and co-chairman of manifesto committee, while MLC Komatireddy Rajagopal Reddy has been included in the all important election committee.

Revanth Reddy Disappointed?

Kodangal MLA Revanth Reddy, who switched loyalties to the Congress from the Telugu Desam Party last year, has not been given responsibility to head any of the committees. The party had already promised the post of working president at the time of his joining the party, but he had expected additional duties in the Election and manifesto committees, it is learnt. In a notable development, none of Seethakka, Vijaya Ramana Rao, Vem Narender Reddy and Bilya Naik, who had all joined the Congress along with Revanth, have been included in the committees.

Also Read: TRS To Spend Rs 2000 Cr On Polls: Revanth Reddy’s Sensational Remarks

With the fresh classification of committees, the party cadres are expressing hapiness over their inclusion in the committees. In the 53 member coordination committee and the 41 member election committees, 11 leaders from the Congress's associate wings like Youth Congress and NSUI have been included as invitees. Also, a total of 19 leaders have been included in committees of LDMRC, disciplinary and election commission coordination.

Only 10 Women In Congress Committees

In the 10 committees announced by the Congress, only 10 women were included in total. Along with election committee co-chairman DK Aruna, Geetha Reddy, Sabitha Indra Reddy, Vijaya Shanthi, Renuka Chowdary, Seethakka, Padmavati, Nerella Sharada, Akula Lalitha and Ajmathulla Hussaini have been included.

Congress Tickets In October 1st Week?

With the appointment of the election committee, the Congress is set to plunge into action for finalizing the contestants in various Assembly constituencies in the upcoming Telangana Assembly elections. The committee would soon recommend the names of constestants to the party's screening committee. In this context, the list of Congress contestants would be out early next month, it is expected.

Also Read: Revanth Reddy Quits MLA Post

Read More:

Back to Top