Six TDP MPs from Seemandhra resign

Six TDP MPs from Seemandhra resign - Sakshi Post

Six MPs of Telugu Desam Party (TDP) from Rayalaseema and Andhra on Friday decided to quit to protest the decision to divide Andhra Pradesh by carving out separate Telangana state.

The MPs told a news conference here that their decision is to protect the interest of the people of Seemandhra (Rayalaseema and Andhra).

The MPs who announced their resignations at the news conference include Lok Sabha members Nimmala Kristappa (Hindupur), K. Narayana Rao (Machilipatnam), M. Venugopala Reddy (Narsaraopet) and Rajya Sabha members Sujana Chowdhury and C.M. Ramesh.
Later another Lok Sabha member N. Sivaprasad (Chittoor) announced that he was also quitting.

Chowdhury asked Congress to clarify on basis of which committee's report it decided to divide the state. He said the unilateral decision of Congress would hurt the interests of the people of Seemandhra.

Ramesh wanted Congress to clarify if the decision was taken for the welfare of the people or for the party's interests.

Read More:

Back to Top