Six Seemandhra MPs resign over division of state

Six Seemandhra MPs resign over division of state - Sakshi Post

Amid mounting pressure, six Congress MPs from Seemandhra region (Rayalaseema and Coastal districts) submitted their resignations protesting against the Centre's decision to carve out Telangana state. 

Lagadapati Rajagopal, Harsha Kumar, Anantha Venkatarami Reddy, Sai Prathap, Vundalli Aruna Kumar and K.V.P.Ramachandra Rao are among those who tendered their resignations. 

The resignations are to bring the public agitation to High Command's notice. "Unless the grievance of the people are taken into confidence and addressed properly, the division of the state should not take place. Unless the sentiments of Coasta and Rayalaseema peoples addressed, this cannot be done. Because this connected with the issue of Capital. We have submitted the resignation in speaker format," Vundavalli said.

While five MPs tendered their resignations to Lok Sabha Secretary General T.K. Vishwanathan, K.V.P submitted his resignation to Rajya Sabha Secretary General Shamsher K Sheriff.

"Srikrishna Committee clearly spelt out the division of Andhra Pradesh is not the national interest, not the state interest and not the people interest. TDP has agreed for the division. CPI and BJP agreed for the division. Now, Congress agreed for the division. Union Government should not go by any party's decision. They should go by the Srikrishna Commitee's report," Lagadapati told reporters in New Delhi.

However, they have announced that they quit the MP posts but not the party

It's a known fact that since the time Centre declared separate statehood for Telangana, there have been widespread protests in the  Seemandhra region. The activists of several NGOs and SJAC were seen attacking houses of MPs demanding their resignations.

It is learnt that the union ministers from Seemandhra region are planning to tender their resignations. Sources say only two ministers have come forward to do so.


Read More:

Back to Top