Samaikyandhra slogans in House: 12 MPs suspended

Samaikyandhra slogans in House: 12 MPs suspended - Sakshi Post

In a bold move, the Lok Sabha on Friday suspended 12 MPs from Andhra Pradesh including eight from Congress for five days for repeatedly disrupting the House over the bifurcation of AP.

Those suspended are: Konakalla Narayana, M Venugopala Reddy, Siva Prasad, Nimmala Krishnappa from TDP and Sai Prathap, Sabbam Hari, Anantha Venkatrami Reddy, L. Raja Gopal, Magunta Sreenivasulu Reddy, Vundavalli Aruna Kumar, G.V. Harsha Kumarm and Kanumuru Bapi Raju from Congress.

Moments after the House assembled, the Seemandhra MPs disrupted proceedings chanting slogans of 'We want justice, Jai Samaikyandhra,' leading to two adjournments.

The Lok Sabha passed the motion moved by Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kamalanath to suspend the MPs for not allowing smooth functioning of the House.

 "I name you under rule 374(A). You may forthwith withdraw from the precincts of the house," Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar announced.

TDP MPs staged a sit-in at the House protesting suspension. After the suspension of MPs, the House was adjourned to Saturday.

Speculation was rife that the UPA government has decided to revoke suspension amid protests from the opposition parties. As speaker herself announced the suspension under rule 374 (A) of parliamentary proceedings, the opposition was calm.

- Siva@sakshipost

Read More:

Back to Top