Andhra Pradesh Know Your Minister: Mekapati Goutham Reddy

Mekapati Goutham Reddy - Sakshi Post

Amaravati: Atmakur MLA Mekapati Goutham Reddy was given the ministerial berth in the YS Jagan Mohan Reddy government. Atmakur is one of 10 constituencies in the Nellore district. He won the 2019 elections against Telugu Desam Party's Bollineni Krishnayya.

Goutham is the son of Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy who has been in politics for some time.

In what the YSR Congress called a "socially-inclusive Cabinet," 25 new ministers were Saturday inducted into the Y S Jaganmohan Reddy's Council of Ministers in Andhra Pradesh.

In line with his electoral promise, Jaganmohan Reddy gave Cabinet berths to seven legislators from the backward classes, five from the Scheduled Castes, one each from the Scheduled Tribes and Muslims, and four each from the Kapu and the Reddy communities.

The Kamma community, which dominated the previous Chandrababu Naidu Cabinet, got just one berth now.

The Kshatriya and the Vysya communities also got one berth each.

State Governor E S L Narasimhan administered the oath of office and secrecy to the new ministers at a glittering public function adjacent to the Secretariat at Velagapudi in capital Amaravati.

The 26-member Cabinet, including the Chief Minister, has three women members; two from the Scheduled Castes and one from the Scheduled Tribes.

Also Read: Andhra Pradesh: YS Jagan Cabinet Ministers Swearing-in: LIVE

Also Read: Andhra Pradesh Know Your Minister: Dharmana Krishna Das

Also Read: AP Assembly Sessions To Commence on June 12

Back to Top