Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 | Who Are The Top Winners?

The big winners of 2019 elections - Sakshi Post

New Delhi: As pollsters predicted, the Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance won a landslide victory in the 17th Lok Sabha elections. As of 11.30 AM, the data showed by the Election Commission of India shows that the BJP has won 300 seats and is leading by three more seats in the 542 parliamentary seats, while the Congress bagged 52 seats.

Prime Minister Modi called it a "victory of honest people’s hope,” while Congress President Rahul Gandhi and AICC general secretary in-charge Uttar Pradesh (east) and his sister Priyanka Gandhi Vadra congratulated the Prime Minister on his second term.

Talking about the big winners in the Lok Sabha Elections 2019:

Narendra Modi - BJP

Prime Minister Narendra Modi won from his turf Varanasi by 4.75 lakh votes. His contestant was Shalini Yadav from the Samajwadi Party.

Amit Shah - BJP

BJP president Amit Shah made his Lok Sabha debut contesting from Gandhinagar in Gujarat and won by 5.5 lakh+ votes. Congress candidate CJ Chavda was his opponent. Winning the prestigious seat, Shah smashed the earlier record margin of 4.83 lakh set by party patriarch L K Advani in the 2014 general election. He is now expected to resign as Rajya Sabha member from Gujarat.

Smriti Irani - BJP

Congress president Rahul Gandhi lost his seat in Amethi, which he had nurtured for decades. Textiles minister Smriti Irani won the seat by 54,000 votes. Smriti tweeted on Friday morning, "A new morning for Amethi, a new pledge. You placed your trust in development, grateful to Amethi." Irani had lost the seat in 2014. Conceding defeat in Amethi at a press conference, Rahul Gandhi said: "I want Smriti Irani ji to keep people's faith and take care of Amethi with love."

Rahul Gandhi - Congress

Although he lost his home turf Amethi, Rahul won the Wayanad Lok Sabha seat by 4.3 lakh votes. His main rival was Communist Party of India candidate PP Suneer. Interestingly, unlike elsewhere in the country, the Congress swept a majority of the 20-constituency state of Kerala, based on results from the Election Commission of India.

Sonia Gandhi - Congress

Sonia Gandhi won from the prestigious Rae Bareli seat by 1.67 lakh votes. She was contesting against Dinesh.P Singh of the BJP.

Akhilesh Yadav - Samajwadi Party

Samajwadi Party supremo Akhilesh Yadav has won from the Azamgarh seat, defeating Bhojpuri star and BJP candidate Dinesh Lal Yadav Nirahua by over 2.59 lakh votes. Yadav has won by a margin of 2,59,874 votes by nearest rival Nirahua. Azamgarh Lok Sabha constituency has a dominance of Yadav and Muslim voters. Akhilesh Yadav is the second president of any political party to have filed nomination from Azamgarh.

Farooq Abdullah - National Conference

Farooq Abdullah is a three-time chief minister of Jammu and Kashmir and the Member of Parliament from Srinagar Lok Sabha constituency. Abdullah has won with more than 1,00,000 votes with PDP's Aga Syed Mohsin coming in second with around 36,000 votes. He won the seat for the first time in 1980.

Babul Supriyo - BJP

Singer and BJP candidate Babul Supriyo has won Asansol Lok Sabha seat by defeating rival Trinamool Congress' candidate Moon Moon Sen by a huge margin of 1.97 lakh votes. The sitting BJP MP has secured 6.32 lakh votes while celebrity candidate Moon Moon Sen has got 4.35 lakh votes.

Asansol, which went to polls in the fourth phase of elections on April 29, witnessed huge clashes between Trinamool and BJP supporters, in which Babul Supriyo's car was also vandalised outside a polling station.

Abhishek Banerjee - TMC

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee's nephew and incumbent MP Abhishek Banerjee has retained the Diamond Harbour Lok Sabha seat in West Bengal by over 3.24+ lakh votes. He was given a tough challenge posed by BJP candidate Nilanjan Roy.

Kanimozhi - DMK

Daughter of former Tamil Nadu Chief Minister M Karunanidhi Kanimozhi won the Thoothukudi Lok Sabha seat of 5,63,143 from the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam party. She defeated BJP's Tamilsai Soundarajan with 2,15,934 votes. The constituency was rocked by the community protests against Vedanta-owned Sterlite Copper in May 2018. The 100-day anti-Sterlite movement had culminated in a police firing on protestors who demanded permanent closure of the company’s copper smelter plant, killing 14 unarmed civilians.

Harsh Vardhan - BJP

Union Minister for Science and Technology and Chandni Chowk's MP Harsh Vardhan has a massive lead in the triangular fight for this seat against Congress party's JP Agarwal and AAP's Pankaj Gupta. He won the seat by over 2.25 lakh votes.

Also Read: Luck Did Not Favour Most Turncoats In Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Read More:

Back to Top