Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 | Top Candidates Who Lost The Battle?

The candidates who lost the election - Sakshi Post

New Delhi: The results of the 17th Lok Sabha elections were out on Thursday. Prime Minister Narendra Modi led his Bharatiya Janata Party to a super-sized victory for a second term in office. Until 4 pm on Friday, the BJP had won 301 seats and was leading in one out of the 542 Lok Sabha seats that went to polls in seven phases in April and May. The Congress bagged 52 seats. This has put it on course to likely winning 303 seats, far better than the 282 it won in 2014.

Several star candidates also lost this election. Have a look at the big names who lost the 17th Lok Sabha elections:

Kanhaiya Kumar - CPI-M

CPI candidate Kanhaiya Kumar lost the Begusarai seat to BJP candidate and union minister Giriraj Singh by a margin of over four lakh votes. The margin of difference between the two candidates turned out to be a whopping 4.22 lakh votes. Giriraj Singh, who had moved from Nawada to Begusarai with some reluctance, polled 6.92 lakh votes of the total 12.17 lakh polled.

Mallikarjun Kharge - Congress

In a huge setback to the Congress, veteran party leader Mallikarjun Kharge was defeated by BJP's Umesh Jadhav in Gulbarga by a margin of 95,452 votes. While Jadhav secured 6,20,192 votes, Kharge got 5,24,740 votes, according to the Election Commission. Popularly known as "solillada Saradara", (a leader without defeat), this was the first electoral loss in Kharge's political life spanning several decades.

Digvijay Singh - Congress

'Raja of Rahogarh' and Congress candidate and veteran Digvijaya Singh lost from the Bhopal Lok Sabha constituency to BJP candidate Pragya Singh Thakur. Sadhvi Pragya, a controversial politician, is an accused in the 2008 Malegaon blast case.

Sadhvi won her first ever Lok Sabha election by a margin of 3,64,822 votes. Conceding defeat, Digvijay Singh said that he accepts the verdict of the people in the Lok Sabha elections.

Also Read: International Media on Indian PM Modi, NDA 2

Prakash Raj - Independent

Actor Prakash Raj lost the election as an independent candidate from the Bengaluru Central constituency. He conceded defeat but vowed to keep fighting for a secular India. He was pitted against Rizwan Arshad of the Congress and sitting BJP MP P C Mohan.

Prakash Raj had garnered 28,906 votes against PC Mohan who garnered 6,02,853.

After the defeat, Raj tweeted,, "A SOLID SLAP on my face... As More ABUSE, TROLL and HUMILIATION come my way... I WILL STAND MY GROUND... My RESOLVE to FIGHT for SECULAR INDIA will continue."

Rahul Gandhi - Congress

Congress president Rahul Gandhi lost his seat in Amethi, which he had nurtured for decades. Textiles minister Smriti Irani won the seat by 54,000 votes. Smriti tweeted on Friday morning, "A new morning for Amethi, a new pledge. You placed your trust in development, grateful to Amethi." Irani had lost the seat in 2014. Conceding defeat in Amethi at a press conference, Rahul Gandhi said: "I want Smriti Irani ji to keep people's faith and take care of Amethi with love."

Atishi Marlena - AAP

AAP's Atishi Marlena came third in the fight for the East Delhi seat. WHile BJP's star candidate and cricketer Gautam Gambhir won the seat with 6,96,156 votes, while Congress' Arvinder Singh Lovely had bagged 3,04, 934 votes.

The BJP swept all seven seats in the national capital and AAP was left with zero seats in the region.

Jyotiraditya Scindia - Congress

Former union minister ands sitting MP Jyotiraditya Scindia lost the Guna Lok Sabha sear to BJP’s KP Singh, a former aide, by over 1.25 lakh votes. The loss is particularly embarrassing for Congress as Jyotiraditya was leading the party's campaign in Western UP.

Nikhil Kumaraswamy - JD(S)

Son of Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy Nikhil Kumaraswamy lost Madya seat in Karnataka. What seemed like a neck-and-neck fight in the morning soon turned into a landslide victory for Sumalatha. As an independent candidate backed by BJP, Sumalatha secured 6,98,213 votes while Nikhil Kumaraswamy secured 5,71,777 votes.

By defeating Nikhil Kumaraswamy, Sumalatha has become the first independent candidate to win a Lok Sabha seat from Karnataka in 52 years.

Sheila Dikshit - Congress

Delhi Congress chief Sheila Dikshit conceded her party's defeat in Lok Sabha polls in the national capital, terming the loss "very disappointing", and congratulated the BJP for its spectacular performance.

Dikshit, who herself was trailing by over 3.63 lakh votes against her rival and Delhi BJP president Manoj Tiwari in North East Delhi constituency, expressed satisfaction that the Congress pushed the Aam Aadmi Party to the third place on most seats.

Also Read: Luck Did Not Favour Most Turncoats In Lok Sabha Elections 2019

K Kavita - TRS

Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) leader and Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao's daughter K Kavita defeated from Nizamabad parliamentary constituency by the BJP's first-time candidate D Arvindh with a margin of 70,875 votes.

"Win or lose, my life is dedicated to the public. I fought hard during Telangana Agitation and as an MP worked sincerely for my constituency and will continue to fight for the people of Nizamabad," she said.

"I thank people of Nizamabad who gave me a chance to serve for last five years," she added.

Also Read: Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 | Who Are The Top Winners?Luck Did Not Favour Most Turncoats In Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Back to Top