Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 | Rajyavardhan Rathore, Gautam Gambhir Wins Big, Kirti Azad, Vijender, Poonia Loses 

Sportsperson and how they fared in the 17th Lok Sabha election - Sakshi Post

New Delhi: As pollsters predicted, the Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance won a landslide victory in the 17th Lok Sabha elections. The BJP won 302 seats according to the Election Commission of India data. The Congress bagged 52 seats.

In India, we have seen the sports star had turned their attention to politics after their sporting innings are over. Former cricketers avjot Singh Sidhu and Mohammad Azharuddin continue to play an active role for their respective parties when it comes to campaigning and elections. While Azharuddin failed to get a Congress ticket in the 2019 elections, Sidhu had joined the Congress in January 2017 after defecting from the BJP.

Let’s have a look at the sports person who contested in the 17th Lok Sabha elections and what are the results.

Gautam Gambhir - BJP

A 2011 World Cup winner, cricketer Gautam Gambhir won as a BJP candidate from the East Delhi Lok Sabha seat. He made a smashing start to his political career with 55.3 per cent votes or 6,96,156 votes, while Congress' Arvinder Singh Lovely had bagged 3,04,934 votes.

After his win, Gambhir tweeted:

Rajyavardhan Rathore - BJP

Shooter-turned-politician Rajyavardhan Rathore is also the Minister for Information and Broadcasting in the BJP government. He contested from the Rajasthan’s Jaipur Rural parliamentary constituency and won by 64.2 per cent votes. He bagged 3.93 lakh votes over the second place and fellow Olympian Krishna Poonia.

He tweeted:

Kirti Azad - Congress

Cricketer-turned-politician Kirti Azad lost to BJP’s Pashupati Nath Singh. He was fighting from the Dhanbad Lok Sabha constituency in Jharkhand for Congress. Kirti was fielded against Nath who has won the mandate in both 2009 and 2014 here.

The 1983 World Cup winning squad member Azad, a former BJP MP from Darbhanga in Bihar had to shift out after the seat was given to the RJD as part of the seat-sharing arrangement for the alliance in the state.

Vijender Singh - Congress

The 33-year old Olympic bronze-medallist Vijender Singh was fighting from the Congress and finished third in the race from the South Delhi constituency. BJP's Ramesh Bidhuri with 6,87,014 won the seat and Raghav Chadha of the AAP won 3,19,971. Vijender bagged 1,64,613 votes.

Krishna Poonia - Congress

A track-and-field athlete, Poonia fielded against Rathore from the Jaipur Rural constituency. She emerged second in the poll result with 4,26,961 or 33.4% of the votes.

Poonia won a gold medal at the 2010 Commonwealth Games in Delhi. The 36-year-old has competed in three Olympics and was awarded the Padma Shri in 2011.

Also Read: Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 | Top Candidates Who Lost The Battle?

Also Read: Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 | Who Are The Top Winners?

Back to Top