BJP who elected its candidate Ramchandra Rao months before the MLC elections registered a thumping victory against his opponent TRS candidate G.Devi Prasad Rao from Mahabubnagar-RangaReddy-Hyderabad graduates council.

Clear early lead of BJP candidate N Ramachandra Rao , made Devi Prasad accept his defeat even before the results were declared. BJP  candidate Ramachandra Rao won the MLC polls with a majority if 13,318 votes.

BJP candidate: 53,881
TRS candidate: 40,563
Congress Candidate: 2,856 votes
NOTA: 521

Rao is pitted against T agitation veteran and employees leader Deviprasad. As for Ramachandra Rao, he had lost the last MLC graduate constituency elections narrowly to Dr K Nageshwar last time. Senior advocate by profession,  this defeat could spell the end of his political ambitions. Rao worked hard to win this election, while TRS backing a weak candidate Devi Prasad gained momentum for N. RamchandraRao.