Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) has retained Medak LokSabha seat in Telangana with its candidate K Prabhakar Reddy winning the byelections.

Prabhakar Reddy defeated his nearest rival V Sunitha Lakshma Reddy of Congress party by over 3.66 lakh votes.

Jagga Reddy of Bharatiya Janata Party-Telugu Desam Party combine finished third.

The byelections held on Saturday were due to the resignation of Telangana chief minister K Chandrasekhar Rao, who had won the prestigious seat in the general election by a margin of 3.97 lakh votes.