Nobel Prize Series-India 2018 in Goa to Host 5 Nobel Laureates

Representational Image  - Sakshi Post

Panaji: American immunologist and microbiologist J Michael Bishop, who won the 1989 Nobel Prize in Physiology, will be among the five Nobel laureates attending the three-day long ‘Nobel Prize Series- India 2018' beginning here from February 1.

The announcement was made today by Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar, adding that Physiology and Medicine Nobel winners Christiane Nusslein-Volhard (1995) and Richard Roberts (1993), Nobel winner for Physics in 2012 Serge Haroche, and 2015 Nobel winner in Chemistry, Tomas Lindahl, would be attending.

Parrikar informed that the state government had executed a Memorandum of Understanding with the Department of Bio-Technology, Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India and Nobel Media, Sweden in November last year to host the event.

The series will also have a month long exhibition brought to Goa from the Nobel Museum in Sweden, Parrikar said.

"The event aims to generate scientific temperament among students by way of educational upgradation. We want our students to learn the kind of temperament that these Nobel laureates had and have," Parrikar said.

He added that the event aimed at encouraging pure science which is essential for the development of the country.

The event will see Nobel laureates interacting with industrialists and researchers from across the country in order to encourage industry to contribute towards research.


Back to Top