Exit Polls: TRS to Grab Nagarjunasagar, YSRCP Will Win Tirupati

 - Sakshi Post

Exit polls are predicting in the favour of the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) to grab the Nagarjunasagar Assembly Constituency by-polls in Telangana and the ruling YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) win in the Tirupati Parliamentary Constituency by-polls in the state of Andhra Pradesh.

The by-polls were necessitated after the Tirupati Lok Sabha seat fell vacant due to the death of the YSRCP MP Balli Durga Prasad Rao in September last year due to COVID-19.  

Nagarjunasagar Assembly constituency |  Exit polls have predicted the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samiti's win in the Nagarjunasagar Assembly constituency. The by-poll for the Nagarjunasagar constituency was necessitated following the death of sitting MLA Nomula Narasimhaiah of the ruling TRS party.

TRS candidate Nomula Bhagath, son of late MLA Nomula Narasimhaiah expressed confidence about his victory and gave all credit to Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao’s (KCR) schemes and welfare policies earned them goodwill. Congress Party candidate senior leader and former MLA from the same place K Jana Reddy was the only strong contender for the ruling party. This apart CM KCR personally oversaw the poll preparations and scores of ministers and other elected representatives camped in Nagarjunasagar for almost two weeks working at the ground level for the party's success.

“Though the initial mood was in strong favour of the TRS which had a margin of 20 per cent, the situation changed a few days before the polling day, thanks to strong consolidation of Reddy vote in favour of the Congress candidate,” said Shivkeshav Amuka, CEO of Mission Chanakya.

The poll management agency did extensive pre-poll and exit surveys interacting with about one lakh voters. The TRS will win the seat with a 20,000 margin and an 11 per cent vote difference between the TRS and the Congress, it concluded.

According to Mission Chanakya the TRS will get 49.24 per cent vote share against 37.92 of the Congress while the BJP that gave up hope even before the campaign started will end up with 7.8 per cent votes. The TRS will get a majority of the votes in five mandals, while Congress K Jana Reddy is projected to lead the show in Madugulapally and Tripuraram mandals.

Another agency Auraa Exit Polls projected 50.48 per cent vote share to Nomula Bhagath against Jana Reddy’s 39.93. The agency projected 6.31 per cent to BJP and 3.28 per cent to others.

HMR Research Pvt Ltd projected that the TRS candidate would win by a 3.3 per cent margin of about 7000 votes. According to the agency, 38 per cent electorate felt good about the government functioning and 26 per cent said average, while 34 per cent voters rated it is bad.

Atmasakshi Exit Poll survey shares that TRS is going to win 43.5% votes while Congress 36.5% and BJP 14.6%.

Also Read: Nagarjunasagar Bypoll: KCR's Welfare Schemes Will Bring Me Luck, Says Nomula Bhagath

Tirupati Lok Sabha constituency | Exit Polls and surveys also predicted that the YSRCP would retain the Tirupati Lok Sabha seat in the triangular contest between the ruling party, Telugu Desam and the Jana Sena-backed BJP.

YSRCP candidate Dr M Gurumurthy was pitted against Dr Panabaka Lakshmi of the TDP and BJP candidate former IAS officer K Ratna Prabha.

Aura Exit Polls projected that the ruling party is projected to get a vote share of 65.85 per cent, TDP a mere 23.1 per cent and BJP at  7.34 per cent.

In the exit poll held by the same agency in Tirupati, 41 per cent voters felt that Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy’s performance and effective implementation of welfare schemes have played a key role in the voting trend.

The success in the AP panchayat and municipal elections has also turned the tides in the favour of the YSRCP is confident that it will achieve a hat trick in the Tirupati Lok Sabha by-elections as well.

A Vizag-based agency Out of the Box however predicted Jana Reddy’s victory with over a 7,000-vote margin while it said YSR Congress candidate Dr Gurumurthy will win with a majority of 3.5 lakh votes which is what the party also targeted as part of it's poll strategy.

Atmasakshi Exit Poll predicts that YSRCP would get 59.25%, TDP 31.15% and BJP 7.5%.

The elections were held on April 17th and the counting will take place on May 2nd and the complete poll process would be complete by May 4th  as per the Election Commission schedule.

Also Read: Lok Sabha By-Polls: YSRCP Confident Of Retaining Tirupati MP Seat

Back to Top