Navaratri Maa Durga Colours: Which Color For Which Day

Navaratri Maa Durga Colours: Which Color For Which Day - Sakshi Post

Navaratri Maa Durga Colours: The Goddess Durga is worshipped throughout the nine-day Navratri celebration. Navratri, one of the most important Hindu festivals, is celebrated in many parts of the world under various names. It is extremely important to devotees. In Sanskrit, the term 'Navratri' means 'nine nights.' The 'Nine Forms of Maa Durga' are worshipped for nine days.

Although Navratri occurs four times a year, only two of them, Chaitra Navratri (March-April) and Sharad Navratri (September-October), are popularly celebrated. The Shardiya Navratri, which takes place in the autumn, is one of the most awaited.

Shardiya Navrati will begin on October 7, 2021, and finish on October 14, 2021, this year. On October 15, 2021, Vijayadashami will be observed. According to the Hindu calendar, Shardiya Navratri occurs in the auspicious month of Ashwin.

What Is The Significance Of The Festival?

The victory of good over evil is symbolised by Navratri or Maha Navratri. Goddess Durga fought the demon king, 'Mahishasura' for nine days and killed him, signalling the triumph of good over evil. Navratri also marks the start of India's festival season, which includes Dussehra, Diwali, and Bhai Dooj.

Goddess Durga's Nine Forms

The nine forms of Goddess Durga, collectively known as Navdurga, are celebrated during the festival of Navratri. Every day of Navratri is dedicated to a different form of Ma Durga. The first day is for Mata Shailputri, then Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skanda Mata, Katyayani, Kaalratri, Mahagauri and Siddhidatri on the ninth day. Each version of Maa Durga is connected with a different colour and has a different significance. It is considered fortunate to wear these colours on particular Navratri days. The following are the meanings of Ma Durga's many colours.

Day 1: Yellow

The celebration of Navratri begins with the worship of Goddess Durga in the guise of Mata Shailputri, the mountain daughter. The colour yellow is linked with the day, and it is said to bring brightness, happiness, and cheer into our lives. Mother nature is represented by Shailputri. She was born when Goddess Sati self-immolated, according to Hindu legend. As a result, she is sometimes referred to as Parvati.

Day 2: Green

The Goddess Brahmacharini is worshipped on the second day of Navratri. The colour green, which is linked with renewal, nature, and energy, is honoured on this day. On the second day of Navrati, this colour is worn to facilitate growth, harmony, and new energy into one's life. Lord Mangal, the giver of all good luck, is said to be governed by Maa Durga's second form.

Day 3: Grey

The third day is devoted to Mata Chandraghanta, Goddess Durga's third form. Devi's favourite colour is grey, and she has a half-moon on her forehead. Devi Parvati's married form is referred to as Chandraghanta. Grey is a dark colour that is sometimes linked with negativity, yet it also represents passion and desire to defeat evil.

Day 4: Orange

Goddess Khushmanda, who is credited with creating the universe with her heavenly smile, is worshipped on the fourth day. She's also known as the "smiling goddess." Because of this, she is linked with the bright colour orange. Brightness, happiness, and good energy are all represented by this colour.

Day 5: White

Skandamata is Goddess Durga's fifth form, and she is seen carrying Lord Kartikeya in her right arm. Worshipping this form of the Devi also has the added benefit of allowing you to adore Lord Kartikeya. On this day, if you wish to get more blessings from the deity, dress in white, which signifies cleanliness, calm, and meditation.

Day 6: Red

Katyayani is Goddess Durga's sixth incarnation. She is also known as the warrior-goddess or Bhadrakali, and she is Goddess Durga's most powerful form. The Goddess Durga, in her most ferocious form, is symbolised by the colour red. The colour signifies the Goddess's wrath towards her foes as well as her bravery.

Day 7: Royal blue

Navdurga's seventh incarnation is Kalaratri. The term Kalaratri refers to the One who is "the Death of Kaal," and it is used in this context. The dark blue colour represents Devi's tremendous strength. This goddess has a dark complexion and a bold posture and is said to be the slayer of all demons. It is connected with the colour Royal Blue, which represents tremendous strength.

Day 8: Pink

Goddess Mahagauri is worshipped on the eighth day. Goddess Durga in this incarnation can grant all of her devotees' wishes. The person who worships this form of the Devi receives respite from all of life's hardships. The colour pink is linked with this day because it signifies optimism, self-improvement, and societal upliftment.

Day 9: Purple

The final day of Navratri is dedicated to Goddess Siddhidatri. It is made up of two words: 'Siddhi' refers to the supernatural ability, and 'Dhatri' refers to the one who bestows the honour. This incarnation of the Devi is a source of wisdom that aids you in achieving your goals. As a result, the colour purple is connected with the day, which signifies ambition and strength.

Read More:

Back to Top