Maharashtra: Chief Minister Eknath Shinde Wins Trust Vote In Assembly

maharashtra assembly 2022 - Sakshi Post

MUMBAI: Maharashtra Chief Minister Eknath Shinde on Monday won the floor test in the State Assembly. In the 288-member House, 164 MLAs voted for the motion of confidence, while 99 voted against it. The trust vote was held in the Assembly in the last day of the special two-day session of the House.Speaker Rahul Narvekar announced that the trust vote has been carried by a majority vote.

In the 288-member Maharashtra Assembly, 10 lawmakers from smaller parties and independents, as well as 106 BJP MLAs, support Eknath Shinde. Shiv Sena has 55 seats, NCP has 53, Congress has 44, BJP has 106, Bahujan Vikas Aghadi has 3, Samajwadi has 2, AIMIM has 2, Prahar Janshakti has 1, CPI (M) has 1, PWP has 1, Swambhimani Paksha has 1, Rashtriya Samaj Paksha has 1, Jansurajya Shakti Party has 1, Krantikari Shetkari Party.

After the death of a Shiv Sena MLA recently, the current strength of the Assembly is reduced to 287, thus the majority mark is 144. Ahead of the floor test of the Eknath Shinde-led Maharashtra government on Monday, one more Shiv Sena MLA from the Uddhav Thackeray camp joined CM Shinde's faction, taking its tally to 40.  Santosh Bangar, the MLA from Kalamnuri in Hingoli district, on Monday morning switched over to the Shinde camp.

In a jolt to Uddhav Thackeray ahead of the Eknath Shinde-led government's floor test, Maharashtra Assembly Speaker Rahul Narvekar has reinstated Shinde as  Shiv Sena legislature party leader, removing Ajay Chaudhary.

Narvekar also recognized the appointment of Bharat Gogawale from the Shinde camp as the chief whip of the Sena, removing Sunil Prabhu, who belongs to the Thackeray faction.

Eknath Shinde was sworn in as CM on June 30 after Uddhav Thackeray quit the post. BJP's Devendra Fadnavis was sworn in as the deputy CM. (Inputs from Agencies) 

Also ReadEknath Shinde Sworn in as Maharashtra Chief Minister, Fadnavis as Deputy CM

Read More:

Back to Top