DMK All Set To Form Govt In Tamil Nadu After A Decade

 - Sakshi Post

Early trends from Tamil Nadu show that DMK led alliance is racing ahead and looks set to form a government. MK Stalin is leading from Kolathur and Udayanidhi Stalin is leading from Chepauk.

For the first time, the elections have seen a contest between DMK and AIADMK without two great leaders and arch rivals J Jayalalithaa and Karunanidhi. The polling for Tamil Nadu was conducted on April 6.

The counting of votes for the 234-member Legislative Assembly in Tamil Nadu started at 8 am on Sunday with strict Covid protocol. Two parties DMK and AIADMK are top contenders and the exit polls have given DMK and its chief MK Stalin the edge. After a decade, DMK is all set to return to power.  It is worth mentioning here that the AIADMK is in alliance with the BJP and the DMK is in alliance with the Congress.

The DMK and its allies have got 136 seats whereas the ruling AIADMK has won 95. Already, the DMK has crossed the magical figure, 118.
Speaking to NDTV, DMK's Manu Sundaram said that, "This has been an unprecedented election because of the pandemic. We are watching closely and frankly expected to perform better than what we are seeing so far. The people saw this election as a choice between the BJP and BJP-controlled alliances and that of the DMK, which stands to oppose the BJP and its ideology."

He further added that they are leading at this moment and are expecting few more numbers.

Makkal Needhi Maiam chief  Kamal Haasan is trailing in Coimbatore south.

Chief Minister K Palaniswami is leading in his home turf Edappadi in Salem district. The BJP's state unit chief L Murugan is ahead in Dharapuram and AIADMK leaders and state ministers KC Veeramani and Benjamin were ahead in Jolarpet and Maduravoya.

Back to Top