AP Municipal Election Results 2021 Counting Of Votes Underway

 - Sakshi Post

The counting of votes for the 11 municipal corporations and 70 municipalities in Andhra Pradesh begun moments ago. Amidst tight security, the counting of votes started at 8 am. The counting of postal ballot votes have started in full swing with political parities keeping  their fingers crossed. Following an order from the High Court, the counting for Chilkaluripet and Eluru has been put on hold. Ongole has recorded the highest voter turnout, whereas Kurnool has recorded the lowest. An average of 63.89 percent of polling had been recorded in the state.

The candidates were elected unopposed in as many as 91 wards of 12 municipal corporations of Anantapur, Kadapa, Kurnool, Ongole, Vizianagaram, Vijayawada, Tirupati, Chittoor, Eluru, Guntur, Machilipatnam, and Visakhapatnam. In the municipalities, candidates were elected unanimously in 490 wards while voting was held for 1,633 wards. The candidates in the entire municipalities of Macherla, Piduguralla, Pulivendula, and Punganur were unopposed.

For counting the votes, a total of 2,204 tables have been arranged. The State Election Commission has deployed 2,376 counting supervisors, 7,412 counting staff, and 1,941 supervisors in municipalities for the counting. Section 144 has been imposed at the counting centres to avoid any untoward incidents.

Back to Top