Business Tycoons Who Are Contesting 17th Lok Sabha Election

Business tycoons fighting Lok Sabha elections 2019 - Sakshi Post

Hyderabad: India's business tycoons play a pivotal role in elections. From funding campaigns and tacit endorsements to being hot-button issues themselves, they are a major factor in the festival of democracy.

The Association for Democratic Reform (ADR), an election watchdog gives us the list of industrialists who are contesting the 17th Lok Sabha election.

Here's the list:

Jayadev Galla: A Telugu Desam Party (TDP) lawmaker in Andhra Pradesh, has declared assets worth over Rs. 680 crore, which makes him one of the richest candidates in the national election. He is an industrialist and the managing director of the Amara Raja group in India, the company that makes Amaron batteries. He is contesting the election from Guntur in Andhra Pradesh, where he won his debut polls in 2014

Jayadev Galla

  • Milind Deora: Congress candidate Milind Deora is contesting from South Mumbai constituency. Corporate bigwigs Mukesh Ambani and Uday Kotak have expressed their support for Milind Deora. Surprisingly, the Congress has always launched scathing attacks against Mukesh' younger brother, Anil Ambani, over his involvement in the Rafale jet deal.

Milind Deora

  • Potluri Varaprasad: Noted industrialist Potluri Varaprasad (PVP) is contesting from Vijayawada Loksabha constituency on a YSR Congress Party ticket. PVP is a big player in entertainment industry as he owns several malls and cinema screens in big cities including Hyderabad and Vijayawada. He is also a producer of many Tollywood films.

Potluri Varaprasad

  • Nama Nageswara Rao: Infra firm Madhucon's chief Nama Nageswara Rao is contesting from Khammam Lok Sabha constituency in the state of Telangana. Rao was initially a part of the TDP but has changed his party allegiance.

Nama Nageswara Rao

Also Read: Sports Personalities Who Are In Fray For Lok Sabha Election

Back to Top