Gajwel: Telugu Desam Party State Farmers Cell President, Gajwel Constituency in-charge Vanteru Pratap Reddy resigned from the party on Saturday. In a party workers meeting held in the town, Pratap Reddy announced his decision. It is learnt, he has sent a resignation letter to party President Chandrababu Naidu. Pratap Reddy contested the 2009 Assembly elections against Congress candidate Thumkunta Narsa Reddy and the 2014 elections against current Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao.

Currently, Pratap Reddy also holds the post of Siddipet TDP president. According to the sources, he is making arrangements to join the Congress party in the presence of its President Rahul Gandhi in a week's time.

Also Read: Compensate Farmers For Crop Loses: Kodandaram to Telangana Govt

"I have fought in support of Mallanna Sagar victims. When I extended support to the family of OU student Murali, who committed suicide, I was disheartened with the lack of support from the TDP leadership in Telangana," Pratap Reddy mentioned in his resignation letter.