New Delhi: Looks like Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal is on a sorry spree, with the latest apology it has taken his sorry count to four. On Monday, the Delhi CM apologised to Union finance minister Arun Jaitley in the DDCA defamation case.

This time it was not Arvind alone, three more AAP leaders Ashutosh, Sanjay Singh and Raghav Chadha have tendered written apologies to Arun Jaitley. In separate letters, dated April 1, the leaders offered their “sincere apology” to the BJP leader and to his family members “for any harm caused to your reputation” as a consequence of the allegations.

The leaders wrote that they made the allegations based on papers furnished to them by individuals who claimed to have first-hand knowledge into the affairs of DDCA. “However, I have recently discovered that the information and the imputations contained therein are unfounded and unwarranted and I was clearly misinformed into making these allegations,” the apology letters stated.

Arun Jaitley has accepted an apology from Arvind Kejriwal and may drop a defamation case he had filed in 2015 after the AAP chief called him corrupt. Jaitley had filed a Rs 10-crore defamation suit against Kejriwal and five other AAP leaders -- Raghav Chadha, Kumar Vishwas, Sanjay Singh, Ashutosh and Deepak Bajpai. All six alleged financial irregularities in the Delhi and District Cricket Association (DDCA) when Jaitley was its president.

Kejriwal's apology spree began last month, with "sorries" to the BJP's Nitin Gadkari, the Congress party's Kapil Sibal and the Akali Dal's Bikram Singh Majithia.