Not Just Three-day CM Fadnavis, Here’s List Of Other Short-term CMs

Design Image - Sakshi Post

MUMBAI: After three days of sitting at the CM’s throne for the second time, Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis resigned from the post on Tuesday saying the Bharatiya Janata Party didn't have the required number in the state as Ajit Pawar resigned as the deputy CM citing personal reasons.

With the stint of three days, Fadnavis became the first CM of the state to remain as the CM for the shortest time beating PK Sawant, who was the CM for nine days in 1963.

Here are a list of CM's who sat on the seat for the shortest time.

Karnataka: BS Yeddyurappa - 3 days

In a dramatic development, BJP's BS Yeddyurappa resigned as the CM after three days in 2018. His party failed to show the required number ahead of the floor test. This followed that the Janata Dal (Secular) allied the Congress and formed the government in the state with HD Kumaraswamy as the CM of the state.

But the government was unstable and the BJP returned to power and BS Yeddiyurappa was sworn in as the CM for the fourth time.

Uttar Pradesh: Jagdambika Pal - 1 day

He was the CM of the state for one day in 1988.

Bihar: Satish Prasad Singh - 1 week

The youngest CM to rule Bihar became the CM in 1968, lasting only for a week.

Meghalaya: SC Marak, 13 days

SC Marak, Congress leader was the CM of Meghalaya from February 27, 1998 to March 10, 1998.

Tamil Nadu- Janaki Ramachandran, 23 days

Wife of AIADMK founder MG Ramachandran was the CM of TN between January 7, 1988 to January 30, 1988.

Also Read | After Three Days, CM Fadnavis, Dy CM Ajit Pawar Quit

Read More:

Back to Top