Meet The Five Judges that Delivered The Ayodhya Verdict

Five Judges To Deliver Ayodhya Verdict - Sakshi Post

The Supreme Court will deliver its verdict of  70-year-old Ayodhya land dispute today, November 9. A five-judge Constitution Bench which was set in January 2018, heard the case for over 40 days from August to October. The verdict will come at 11 am.

Here's  a look at the judges who are going to be giving this historic verdict today:

Chief Justic Of India Rajan Gogoi

He is the 46th and current Chief Justice Of India who was formerly Chief Justice of the Punjab and Haryana High Court.

Justice SA Bobde

Justice SA Bobde will be the next Chief Justice of India, taking office on 18 November. He was appointed to the Supreme Court on 12 April 2013.

Justice DY Chandrachud

Justice DY Chandrachud is also in line to be the Chief Justice of India. He could have one of the longest tenures in recent years from 2022 to 2024.

Justice Ashok Bhushan

Justice Ashok Bhushan formerly practiced in Allahabad High Court from 1979 to 2001 where the Ayodhya Case originated. After serving as Chief Justice of the Kerala High Court he was elevated to Supreme Court on 13 May 2015.

Justice Abdul Nazeer

Justice Abdul Nazeer is the only judge who has been appointed as judge of the Supreme Court without having served as Chief justice of high court. He was judge in Karnataka High Court for 14 years. He was elevated to the Supreme Court on January 2017.

When the five-judge bench for the Ayodhya hearings was initially announced, it included Justices UU Lalit and NV Ramana instead of Justices Bhushan and Nazeer.

Also Read: 9 Years After Allahabad HC Judgement SC Passes Verdict

Read More:

Back to Top