Voting Ends For Maharashtra Assembly Polls, Voter Turnout 63%

Design Image - Sakshi Post

Mumbai: Maharashtra elections held on Monday in all 288 Assembly constituencies ended at 6 pm and saw a voter turn out of around 63 per cent. The figure is similar to that of the 2014 polls.

In the state, 3,237 candidates, including 235 women, are in the fray for the Maharashtra assembly polls. Voting was also underway for the byelection to Satara Lok Sabha constituency.

Many politicians, celebrities turned up at the polling booths to exercise their franchise.

Prominent voters included RSS chief Mohan Bhagwat, CM Devendra Fadnavis, NCP chief Sharad Pawar, Shiv Sena president Uddhav Thackeray, cricketer Sachin Tendulkar, former President Pratibha Patil and MNS chief Raj Thackeray.

From Shah Rukh Khan to Salman Khan, from Kareena Kapoor Khan to Deepika Padukone, Mumbai's polling booths witnessed several Bollywood celebrities who came out to vote.

Aamir Khan, Madhuri Dixit Nene and Lara Dutta were among the tinsel town figures who turned up to vote.

The state has a total of 8.98 crore voters. Nearly 6.5 lakh polling personnel were deployed at 96,661 polling booths across the state which began at 7 am.

The main contest is between the 'Mahayuti' or grand alliance led by the BJP, and the 'maha-aghadi' (front) led by the Congress and NCP.

Also Read | Maharashtra Polls: Stars Cast Vote, Voter Turnout Till 5 Pm At 54.53%

Back to Top