Polling For 90 Haryana Assembly Seats Ends, Voter Turnout 62%

Haryana Assembly elections - Sakshi Post

Chandigarh: Polling for the single-phase Haryana Assembly elections came to an end at 6 pm and the voter turn out was recorded at 62 per cent. The state has 90 assembly seats.

Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar is seeking a re-election from Karnal. Khattar had travelled by a Jan Shatabdi train from Chandigarh to cast his vote in Karnal. Upon reaching the place, he rode a bicycle to reach the polling booth and urged people to try and make use of cycle to commute at least short distances as it will help protect environment.

The prominent figures in the fray are Chief Minister Khattar, former chief minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda, JJP's Dushyant Chautala and INLD's Abhay Singh Chautala.

As many as 1,169 candidates, including 105 women, are contesting the elections. As many as 19,578 polling stations have been set up besides the deployment of over 75,000 security personnel.

Over 1.83 crore voters are eligible to vote that includes 85 lakh women, over one lakh service voters and 252 transgenders.

Also Read | Maharashtra Polls: Stars Who Cast Their Votes

Back to Top