Modi Cabinet Ministers List Out: Who Got Which Berth?

Pic courtesy: Twitter@Narendramodi - Sakshi Post

New Delhi: The final list of Narendra Modi's new cabinet ministers is out. BJP president Amit Shah will be the minister of Home Affairs, Rajnath Singh who was the home minister in the first term of the NDA will now be the defence minister, Nirmala Sitharaman is the new finance minister, while the new entrant is former Foreign Secretary Subrahmanyam Jaishankar who will be the minister of external affairs that was earlier headed by Sushma Swaraj in the previous government.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will also be in charge of the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Department of Atomic Energy, Department of Space, all important policy issues and other portfolios not allocated to any minister.

Narendra Modi took oath as the 15th Prime Minister of the country on Thursday. President Ram Nath Kovind allocated portfolios to the 57 ministers who took the oath of office at the Rashtrapati Bhavan a day earlier.

The council of ministers has 24 cabinet ministers, nine ministers of state with independent charge and 24 ministers of state. The first meeting is expected to take place later in the day.

Take a look at who holds which berth here:


  • Giriraj Singh on being appointed as Minister of Animal Husbandry, Dairying & Fisheries
  • Pratap Chandra Sarangi to be the MoS in the Ministry of Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises and Ministry of Animal Husbandry, Dairying & Fisheries.
  • Babul Supriyo to be MoS in the Ministry of Environment, Forest & Climate Change.
  • Kiren Rijiju has been appointed as the Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports and Minister of State in the Ministry of Minority Affairs.
  • Smriti Irani to be the Minister of Women and Child Development; and Minister of Textiles

  • Narendra Singh Tomar appointed as the Minister of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, Rural Development & Panchayati Raj 3

  • Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi to be the Minister of Minority Affairs

  • Nirmala Sitharaman to be the Minister of Finance & Minister of Corporate Affairs
  • DV Sadananda Gowda appointed as the Minister of Chemical and Fertilisers
  • Piyush Goyal as Minister of Railways; and Minister of Commerce and Industry
  • Prakash Javadekar has been appointed as Minister of Environment, Forest and Climate Change and Minister of Information and Broadcasting
  • Dr. Harsh Vardhan has been appointed as Minister of Health and Family Welfare; Minister of Science and Technology; and Minister of Earth Sciences.

  • Gajendra Singh Shekhwat to be the Minister of Jal Shakti.

  • Dr. Subrahmanyam Jaishankar has been appointed as the Minister of External Affairs.
  • Amit Shah gets Home ministry, while Rajnath Singh gets defence.
  • Nitin Gadkari to retain Ministry of Road Transport and Highways
  • Dharmedra Pradhan to remain petroleum minister.
  • Ram Vilas Paswam to remain Consumer Affairs Minister
  • Agriculture goes to Narendra Singh Tomar who also gets Rural Development.

Rashtrapati Bhavan issued a communique listing out the portfolios:

Also Read: Team Modi 2.0: Complete List Of Cabinet Ministers

Read More:

Back to Top