62 persons were disqualified from contesting in the Elections for over a period of 2 and 3 years by the Election Commission of India, on Tuesday.

Majority of the candidates disqualified are found to be Independent candidates. The EC said that they were disqualified for failing to submit their previous election expenses under Section 10(A) of the Representation of the People's Act 1951.

15 candidates are said to be disqualified till June 8, 2020 and 30 of them were disqualified till Jan 7, 2022, from contesting in the elections.

Meanwhile, in the State of Telangana 4,098 wall writings, 29,526 posters, 975 cutouts, 11,485 banners, 3,498 flags and 7,038 other materials have been confiscated across 33 districts.

This was mentioned in the statement issued by the chief electoral officer for Telangana state Rajath Kumar.

Also Read: Andhra Pradesh Assembly Elections 2019 Dates Announced: EC Reveals AP Poll Dates