MUMBAI: Shiv Sena Chief and newly appointed Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray has won the trust vote in Maharashtra Assembly on Saturday, amidst walkout by opposition BJP. However, four MLAs were absent during the floor test, which began at 2 p.m. in the house after pro-tem speaker Dilip Walse Patil chaired the session.

As many as 169 MLAs of Maha Vikas Agadi today voted in favour of the motion of confidence, while zero against, four abstained and 105 BJP MLAs walked out during voting.

On the other hand, former Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, who led the walkout of BJP MLAs, said that removal of pro-tem speaker they will submit a letter to Governor Bhagat Singh Koshiyari asking him to suspend the proceedings of the House.

"Never in the history of Maharashtra assembly, was a trust vote conducted without electing a Speaker. What was the fear this time?" Fadnavis asked, moments before the BJP staged a walkout.

The floor test began with high drama as the BJP members, led by Fadnavis, walked out just before voting. The BJP is protesting against the selection of Nationalist Congress Party's Dilip Walse Patil as the temporary speaker. Mr Patil had replaced BJP's Kalidas Kolambkar as pro-tem speaker and a permanent speaker will be elected tomorrow.

Also Read: Rahul Describes Pragya Thakur As “Terrorist”