How the municipal elections ended in AP ?

How the municipal elections ended in AP ? - Sakshi Post

According to state election commissioner Ramakanth Reddy, there are 17,864 contestants in the fray in the municipalities and another 3,343 candidates are testing their fortunes in the corporations. 

Candidates: 3,990 

Voters:  Over 95 lakh 

Voters in municipalities: 67.87 lakh

Voters in the corporations : 27.48 lakh 

Polling stations municipalities : 6,631

Polling stations in municipal corporations: 2,507

Web casting: 3,002 

Videography :4,919

Sakshipost brings you live updates from across the state.

Prakasam: Tension prevailed at a polling centre at Markapuram in Prakasam district when TDP polling agents staged protest over not receiving authorization letters from election authorities.

Medak: Two candidates, who are contesting for the posts of chairmen on behalf of Congress and TRS, clash with each other in Sanga Reddy.  The war of words between the two leaders led to the clashes ultimately.

YSR Kadapa: YSRCP activist Gangi Reddy died in the attack by the leaders of Telugu Desam Party at Gutakavanipalli village in Lakkireddypalle mandal in YSR district on Sunday morning

Percentage of voting in various districts at 10 pm

About 15.22 percent polling was registered in the municipal elections by 10 am

Highest: 18.2% (Nellore)

Lowest: 10% (Kurnool)

  • Congress leader Snathosh Reddy was arrested after he was found allegedly distributing money and goodies to voters in Warangal]
  • YSRCP MLA Gurunath Reddy was placed under house arrest when he stopped TDP men distributing money to attract voters
  • Polling in several parts of Nellore were forced to conduct polls in the open due to  the lack of rooms
  • An elderly woman who had come to cast his vote near Sai Baba temple in Madanapalle suddenly collapse. She died when she was being rushed to hospital.
  • Tension prevailed in several parts of Ananthapur. There was a rift when YSRCP activists obstructed TDP men from allowing illegal voting. Police interrupted them and brought the situation under control.
  • About  34.89 per cent of polling was reported till 12 AM  

Nandigama : Polling was stopped at 18th ward at Nandigama town in Krishna district. The officials informed that they would announce the new date of polling soon. 

Some irregularities took place in the voters list and the officials postponed the polling for that reason.  

Nandyal : The TDP leaders have tried to give money to the voters at 34th ward in Nandyal town. They tried to give money in the presence of police itself. The officials did not respond even though YSRCP leaders complained the same to the authorities.

Tadipatri: Polling stopped at CPI colony in Tadipatri. YSRCP men intervened CPI leaders when the latter tried to cast votes illegally. There was a minor clash then between the leaders of two parties.

The election officials said that they would conduct the polling again.   

Narsaraopeta: Police resorted to lathicharge on the voters when they tried to cast their votes for two times. The voters accused the election officials that their names appeared two times in the voters list and thus they are using their chance of voting for two times. Police lathicharged then when there was a scuffle between polling agents and voters.

Peddapuram : About 200 voters have stayed away from casting their votes in the town.  They have vexed with the attitude of the political leaders who appears at the time of elections only. They clarified that they would vote only when their problems are solved by the leaders.

About 54.59 percent of voting was recorded by 1 pm in the entire state.

Voting percentage till 2 pm

Guntur: 59%
Anantapur: 52%
Srikakulam: 55 %
Vizianagaram : 55 %
East Godavari: 50.18 %
Nellore: 53.44%
Kurnool: 55.33%
Khammam: 57.34%
Ranga Reddy: 56.36%
Nizamabad: 52%

TDP leader Jayaram Naidu was caught red handed while distributing money to the voters. Shocking everyone, he was seen distributing fake currency notes. The voters had to shock to see the faked notes.

Nagari: TDP and Congress leaders joined together and announced that they won't vote for YSRCP and vote for any leader from other parties.

Nuziveed : Tense situation was prevailed at Nuziveed in Krishna when the rift occurred between TDP and YSRCP candidates. Several activists were taken into custody by the police. 

Former MLA Pinnelli Lakshma Reddy created ruckus at the polling station and broke the EVMs at Macharla. Police officials, led by IG Suneel Kumar, had to lathicharge to bring the situation under control. 144 Section was imposed in the area. All the leaders involved in the incident were sent to the police station.


Read More:

Back to Top