ICC Women’s World Cup 2017: England Clinch 4th Title; India Lose The Battle Well Fought  

India players stand dejected prior to receiving their runners-up medals after losing the CC Women’s World Cup final match against England, at Lord’s, in London, Sunday. - Sakshi Post

India suffered a stunning collapse to lose seven wickets for 28 runs and that cost them the Women’s World Cup which England won by nine runs. In the final, India needed 229 runs to win the game and were on track with five wickets in hand at 191. Then Shrubsole produced a stunning performance to run through the tail and help England win. She took six wickets in the final to bowl out India for 219. This is England fourth title while India failed to win their first in two attempts.

India were chasing 229 and were on track with 191 for 3 before losing seven wickets for 28 runs.

A spirited 86 from Punam Raut and 51 from Harmanpreet Kaur helped India get close to England's total of 228/7 but fell just nine runs short to make their dream come true. Underdogs in the event, India were up against tournament favourites and hosts England in the summit clash but they refused to give up without a fight.

Despite losing opener Smriti Mandhana early and captain Mithali Raj for 17, Punam and Harmanpreet got India back in the match with a 95-run partnership. After Punam's departure, Veda Krishnamurthy's 35 kept India in the hunt. However, England held their nerves and picked up wickets at regular intervals as the Indian lower-order failed to come up with the goods. With this win, England won their fourth World Cup title.

After the match was over, Indian women's cricket team captain Mithali Raj said: "I will definitely play for a couple of years more, but I don't see myself playing the next World Cup."

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, however, patted the Indian women's cricket team for their performance.

Our women cricketers gave their best today. They have shown remarkable tenacity & skill through the World Cup. Proud of the team!


England XI: Laura Winfield, Tammy Beaumont, Sarah Taylor (wk), Heather Knight*, Natalie Sciver, Fran Wilson, Katherine Brunt, Jenny Gunn, Anya Shrubsole, Laura Marsh, Alex Hartley

India XI: Punam Raut, Smriti Mandhana, Mithali Raj*, Harmanpreet Kaur, Deepti Sharma, Veda Krishnamurthy, Shikha Pandey, Sushma Verma (wk), Jhulan Goswami, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Poonam Yadav

Back to Top