Analysis Of Four States Assembly Elections

Four States Assembly Elections - Sakshi Post

By Amer Arafath

The Assembly elections to the four states viz. Odisha, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh and Andhra Pradesh has been conducted along with the General Lok Sabha elections. After seeing the results, one can easily say that the trend and choices are very different from the Lok Sabha elections and it is very local in its nature. The public psyche evolved to a good level in this new India and they knew whom to vote depending upon the genre of elections. I have presented the local issue of various political parties in these four states where they locked horns with their rivals on the local issues which are very subjective in nature. The Modi effect didn't gripped in these states despite the nation was chanting for his boldness post Balakot strikes. This gives political parties a crystal clear idea that to get in power, focus on issues and that too onlocal and regional basis. The Modi wave was miniscule in nature in Odisha and literally zero in Sikkim and Andhra Pradesh but however, in Arunachal Pradesh it got a clean sweep due to the Pema Khandu's effective governance and administration. Let us see in detail what were the factors on which the political parties went into election in these states.

1) Odisha

The Biju Janata Dal supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has won a comfortable fifth consecutive term by grabbing 112 out of 147 seats . His administration was an impeccable one for the people of Odisha. In last two years, about 34 social-welfare schemes were made by the Naveen Patnaik and this marked Odisha as one of the best state in India working for the human welfare. The BJD is the first party in India to reserve 33% of MLA seats for women and this strategy turnout to be a big positive move. Another masterstroke was the KALIA Scheme which provided financial, livelihood, cultivation support along with insurance support to small, marginal and the landless farmers. This changed the anti-incumbency factor across the state. Further, Patnaik built world class disaster management system to prevent casualties in coastal areas. Thus, there was no impact of Modi wave in the state and hence he tasted success for the record fifth time

2) Sikkim

The Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) wrestled down Pawan Kumar Chamling, the longest serving CM of India since independence. He assumed power in the year 1994. Though the CM Chamling devised many welfare schemes there was a big anti-incumbency factor. The blunder came in the form of injecting the notion that to criticise the government or the party was a criminal act. This led to huge disappointment among the voters and they elected the alternative party

3) Arunachal Pradesh

The BJP clinched 41 out of 60 seats in Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly and Pema Khandu is back for the second term as Chief Minister but it is the first elected BJP government in Orchid state. Three BJP legislators won unopposed - Phurpa Tsering from Dirang, Taba Tedir from Yachuli and Kento Jini from Along East. The reasons for BJP winning here are Good Governance and reforms, decisive policy and pro-public development schemes like Chief Minister's Adarsh Gram Yojana, CM District Innovation and Challenge Fund, Chief Minister's Krishi Rinn Yojana (Zero interest crop loans), Deen Dayal Upadhayaya Bunkar Yojana and Deen Dayal Upadhayaya Swalamban Yojona (To encourage unemployed youth for entrepreneurship through formal banking channels). Also, he created more than 5000 jobs to the youth of the state. He started smart classroom concept in the govt schools. The Bogibeel bridge (Road & Rail bridge) is strategic infrastructure built on Brahmaputra River, the Dhola-Sadiya bridge on Lohit river and the Byorung Bridge over Siang river will allow rail and road access to Upper Assam and eastern Arunachal Pradesh which was pending since many years. This came a big lifeline to the northeastern state of India. It will boost the connectivity with other NE states and further contributes to the state economy. All the above factors contributed to the landslide victory of BJP in Arunachal pradesh.

4) Andhra Pradesh

The outstanding victory of the YSR Congress Party in Andhra Pradesh created the history as it bagged 151 out of 175 seats. Chandrababu Naidu faced a humiliating defeat as Yellow party restricted to a paltry number of 23 seats. The public of AP shifted its choice in favor of YSRCP because Naidu failed to get 'Special Category' status to the state. Though, Naidu promised to build a world class capital and his schemes were impressive, he couldn't go with the pscyhe of the voters. The TDP coming out of NDA and sensing close to UPA proved a costly affair to Naidu. Nara Lokesh failed to be a charismatic leader though given many opportunities and lacked leadership skills. Jagan on other hand, carried out his Padayatra of more than 3500 km that touched the emotional sentiments of the masses and in this way he got a massive mandate in the coastal state. It took Jagan a paltry sum of 10 years for getting a CM chair post his father demise for which the Congress high command denied in 2009.

The views expressed in the article are personal and those of the author. He can be reached on

Also Read: God, People Delivered Chandrababu His Due: YS Jagan

Also Read: AP MLA, MP Winners List: Meet Andhra Pradesh’s Winning Candidates Districts, Constituencies

Back to Top