First session of Telangana assembly from June 9

First session of Telangana assembly from June 9 - Sakshi Post

Hyderabad,  The first session of the Telangana assembly will begin on June 9,  Legislative Affairs Minister T. Harish Rao said here Thursday.

The pro-tem speaker will take oath on the first day. This will be followed by oath-taking by all 119 legislators including Chief Minister K.Chandrasekhara Rao.

Harish Rao told reporters that the speaker will be elected on June 10. Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan will address the house on June 11.

The session will continue till June 13, during which various issues pertaining to welfare and development will come up for debate.

Telangana came into being as the 29th state of the country on June 2. The same day Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) chief Chandrasekhara Rao took oath as the chief minister. The TRS bagged 63 seats in the 119-member assembly in the recent election.

Meanwhile, opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) demanded that reorganisation of districts should be discussed in the assembly. TDP leader Revanth Reddy suggested that the government create seven new districts. Telangana currently has 10 districts including Hyderabad.




Read More:

Back to Top