Tollywood Gets 7 Awards Across 4 Movies At The 66th National Film Awards

Representational image - Sakshi Post

Telugu Film Industry had grabbed 7 awards across 4 movies at the 66th National Film Awards. Among them where Mahanati that won Best Film Telugu, Keerthy Suresh won Best Actress and Best Costume, Awe won awards Best Make Up and Best VFX. Rangasthalam won for Best Sound Mixing and ChiLaSow won for Best Original Screenplay.

Bollywood films like "Uri: The Surgical Strike", "Andhadhun", "Badhaai Ho" and "Padman" won big at the 66th National Film Awards, which were announced on Friday.

The announcement was made in a press conference by Rahul Rawail, Chairperson, Feature Film Category; AS Kanal, Chairperson, Non-Feature Film Category and Utpal Borpujari, Chairperson, Best Writing on Cinema.

The Chairpersons and other Jury Members earlier on Friday submitted a report on 66th National Film Awards to Union Minister Prakash Javadekar.

While Hindi movie "Padman" was declared Best Film on Social Issues, Ayushmann Khurrana and Vicky Kaushal jointly received the Best Actor Award for their performances in "Andhadhun" and "Uri: The Surgical Strike".

Aditya Dhar also won Best Director Award for "Uri: The Surgical Strike". The film that has Vicky playing an Indian Army officer also won the Sound Designer award (Bishwadeep Dipak Chatterjee). Best Music Director (Background Music) went to Shashwat Sachdev for "Uri: The Surgical Strike".

"Andhadhun" was also a favourite at this year's edition of National Film Awards. Apart from the Best Actor Award, the movie won Best Hindi Film award and honour for Screenplay writer (adapted): Sriram Raghavan, Arijit Biswas, Yogesh Chandekar, Hemant Rao and Pooja Ladha Surti.

"Badhaai Ho" bagged awards for Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment and Best Supporting Actress (Surekha Sikri).

Akshay Kumar-starrer "Padman" was declared Best Film on Social Issues. "Padmaavat" won big, especially in the music categories. It bagged awards for Best Male Playback Singer (Arijit Singh for the song "Binte dil misriya mein"), Best Music Direction -- Music Director (Songs): Sanjay Leela Bhansali and Best Choreography (Kruti Mahesh Madya and Jyoti Tomar for the song "Ghoomar").

As for other top honours, Gujarati film "Hellaro" was declared Best Feature Film winner, Keerthy Suresh was declared winner of Best Actress trophy for her performance in Telugu movie "Mahanati" and Uttarakhand was declared the Most Film Friendly State.

Also Read: SIIMA 2019: Telugu Nominations Full List Is Out

Back to Top