Dangal Bags Filmfare’s Best Film, Best Actor, Best Director Awards; Alia Bhatt Best Actress 

Aamir Khan bags Best Actor, Nitesh Tiwari Best Director and Alia Bhatt Best Actress for her performance in Udta Punjab at Filmfare Awards 2017.  - Sakshi Post

At the glittering Filmfare awards last night, "Dangal" swept away three of four major awards -- Best Film, Aamir Khan won Best Actor and Nitesh Tiwari won Best Director award while Alia Bhatt won the Filmfare Best Actor Award (Female) for her performance in "Udta Punjab".

Attended by most actors of the Bollywood film fraternity, the iconic 62nd Jio Filmfare Awards was a star-studded event hosted by actor Shah Rukh Khan.

After winning the Best Director award, Nitesh Tiwari said, "This award is the reassurance of how much people loved our film (Dangal). So I would like to take the opportunity to thank everyone in India and abroad who loved and supported our film. It means everything."

Alia, who came along with her mother Soni Razdan and sister Shaheen Bhatt, received the Best Actor (Female) award from Sridevi and Boney Kapoor.

After receiving the award, she said, "It's very close to my heart (Udta Punjab). Thank you Shahid for sending the script to me. Today is very special day for me. Sridevi ji receiving it from you is an honour. Another reason is my sister is here. Got her out of home."

Sharing her father Mahesh Bhatt's message, the actor said, "My dad said 'I feel you are going to win. You should do what you feel. If you feel like crying, cry.' This is a dream come true for me. Finally Thanks Karan for giving her the first break."

In other awards, actress Sonam Kapoor won the Critics' Award For Best Actor (Female) for her performance in "Neerja" while actors Manoj Bajpayee and Shahid Kapoor shared the award for their portrayals in "Aligarh" and "Udta Punjab" respectively, in the Male category.

While Sonam got emotional on receiving the award from film director duo Abbas-Mustan, Shahid said: "I am very excited to get it and I want to thank Filmfare for this. It's a good day!"

Director Ram Madhvani won Critics' Award For Best Film for "Neerja".

Sooraj Pancholi and Kriti Sanon presented the Filmfare Best Debut Awards Male and Female to Diljit Dosanjh for "Udta Punjab" and Ritika Singh for "Saala Khadoos" respectively.

Diljit sung 'Ikk kudi' after winning the award and Ritika said, "I've never acted before. For those who don't know, I am a wrestler."

Shatrughan Sinha received the prestigious Filmfare Lifetime Achievement Award presented by his daughter, actress Sonakshi Sinha.

After winning the award, the veteran actor said, "Many people feel if you get the Lifetime Achievement Award it's the end, but I feel it's just the beginning."

Action director and stunt coordinator Shyam Kaushal won the award for Best Action for the film "Dangal" and Payal Saluja won Best Costume for "Udta Punjab".

Karan Johar's "Ae Dil Hai Mushkil" was one of the most celebrated films of the evening, with four awards.

While Arijit Singh won the Best Playback (Male) for the title song of "Ae Dil Hai Mushkil", Pritam bagged the Best Music Director and the Best Music Album. Amitabh Bhattacharya won the award for Best Lyrics for "Channa Mereya" from the same film.

After winning the award, Pritam said, "My first thanks to KJo. Without him it wouldn't have been possible. I want to take this award home for my children."

Neha Bhasin won the Best Playback Singer (Female) for 'Jag Ghoomeya' from "Sultan". Holding her precious 'black lady', Neha hummed the song and said, "I would like to thank the entire team of Filmfare, you guys rock!"

The film "Kapoor and Sons" won three awards -- Rishi Kapoor won The Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male); Adil Shaikh won Best Choreography for 'Kar Gayi Chul', and Shakun Batra and Ayesha Devitre won the Best Story and Best Screenplay for "Kapoor and Sons".

"Cannot thank Filmfare enough for giving such a great start to our new year and we want to work harder this year," the duo said after winning the award.

On the other hand, the much acclaimed film "Neerja" won four awards. Shabana Azmi won the Filmfare Award for Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female), Aparna Sud and Anna Ipe won for Best Production Design; Mitesh Munchandani won for Best Cinematography and Monisha R Baldawa won the award for Best Editing.

Ashwiny Iyer Tiwari bagged the the Filmfare Award for Best Debut Director for her highly appreciated film "Nil Battey Sannata", which starred Swara Bhaskar.

In performances, Salman Khan danced to some of his hit songs, such as 'O o jaane jaana', 'Munni badnam hui' and 'Sultan'. Actor Tiger Shroff grooved to hits like 'The Pappi Song', 'Aa raha hoon main' and 'Dhoom Again'.

62nd Filmfare Awards 2017: Complete Winners' List

Best Actor (Male): Aamir Khan for 'Dangal'

Best Actor (Female): Alia Bhatt for 'Udta Punjab'

Best Film: 'Dangal'

Best Director: Nitesh Tiwari for 'Dangal'

Filmfare Critics Award for Best Film: 'Neerja'

Filmfare Critics Award for Best Actor (Male): Shahid Kapoor for 'Udta Punjab' and Manoj Bajpayee for 'Aligarh'

Filmfare Critics Award for Best Actor (Female): Sonam Kapoor for 'Neerja'

Best Actor (Male) in a Short Film: Manoj Bajpayee for 'Taandav'

Best Short Film People's Choice: Khamakha

Best Short Film (Fiction): 'Chutney'

Best Short Film (Non-fiction): 'Matitali Kusti'

Best Actor (Female) in a Short Film: Tisca Chopra for 'Chutney'

Best Debut Director: Ashwini Iyer Tiwari for 'Nil Battey Sannata'

Best Male Debut: Diljit Dosanjh for 'Udta Punjab'

Best Female Debut: Ritika Singh for 'Saala Khadoos'

Best Dialogue: Ritesh Shah for 'Pink'

Best Screenplay: Shakun Batra and Ayesha Devitre Dhillon for 'Kapoor & Sons (Since 1921)'

Best Story: Shakun Batra and Ayesha Devitre Dhillon for 'Kapoor & Sons (Since 1921)'

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male): Rishi Kapoor for 'Kapoor & Sons (Since 1921)'

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female): Shabana Azmi for 'Neerja'

Filmfare Lifetime Achievement Award: Shatrughan Sinha

Best Music Album: Pritam for 'Ae Dil Hai Mushkil'

Best Lyricist: Amitabh Bhattacharya for 'Channa Mereya' from 'Ae Dil Hai Mushkil'

Best Playback Singer (Male): Arijit Singh for 'Ae dil hai mushkil' from 'Ae Dil Hai Mushkil'

Best Playback Singer (Female): Neha Bhasin for 'Jag Ghoomeya' from 'Sultan'

Filmfare RD Burman Award for New Music Talent: Amit Mishra for 'Bulleya' from 'Ae Dil Hai Mushkil'

Best Visual Effects: Red Chillies for 'Fan'

Best Editing: Monisha Baldawa for 'Neerja'

Best Costume: Payal Saluja for 'Udta Punjab'

Best Action: Shyam Kaushal for 'Dangal'

Best Background Score: Sameer Uddin for 'Kapoor & Sons (Since 1921)'

Best Choreography: Adil Shaikh for 'Kar Gayi Chull' in 'Kapoor & Sons (Since 1921)'

Read More:

Back to Top