Hyderabad: Hyderabad police commissioner, Anjani Kumar on Friday took action against five Bowenpally police officials who thrashed nine persons including a minor in the Bowenpally Station. They were having a birthday celebration when the police swooped on them and took them into custody based on a nuisance complaint filed by a local resident .

A station house officer, a home guard , a constable and three sub-inspectors who were attached to the Armed Reserve headquarters thrashed the youth mercilessly and let them off after warning them.

The victims identified as Abhishek (17) from Naidu college, Pushparaj (20), an Airtel employee, Kalyan (17) from Omega degree college, P Sandeep Kumar (24), from Keshav memorial law college, Bhanu Prakash (18), a car mechanic, Abhishek Yadav, a car mechanic, N Bharath, Manish and Shubham were all friends.

The victims claim that they were ruthlessly beaten up by the police. One of the youths, Sandeep Kumar, a law student from Bowenpally said, "The police officers came to us and took nine of us with them to the police station saying that we were creating nuisance in the name of birthday party celebrations. They didn't even listen to us and started beating us with lathis and boots"", he said.

Child Rights Association president said that taking minors into charge and beating them mercilessly is a violation of child rights and the police should not have attacked the minor boys.

The commissioner has transferred Bowenpally inspector V Anand Kishore, sub-inspectors G Guru Swamy, M Srinivas and V Mohan Babu, Home Guard G Tirupathi Reddy and constable B Kiran Kumar to the CAR headquarters in Hyderabad.

Also Read: Crimes Of 2018 In City

Also Read: Man Batters Wife To Death In Rayachoti