World Cup 2019: A Host Nation Wins For Third Time

A Host Nation Wins For Third Time - Sakshi Post

London: Host nation England beat New Zealand at Lord's on Sunday in a nerve-wracking thriller, to win the ICC World Cup title for the first time. This is the third consecutive win for a World Cup host nation. India won the title in 2011, Australia in 2015 and now it is England's turn. On Sunday night, dramatic scenes were witnessed as the match moved into the super over after scores were tied. With England getting 15 runs from the super over bowled by New Zealand's Trent Boult, the Kiwis had to get 16. Martin Guptill and Jimmy Neesham managed to tie the scores again,giving England an opportunity to wrest the World Cup on the basis of boundary rate.

The pressure on England chasing 242, was relentless. New Zealand seamers kept coming at them relentlessly, scalping big wickets at crucial moments in the game. Ben Stokes with an unbeaten 84 stood tall, with Joss Buttler adding a valuable fifty. But then, even Stokes couldn't prevent the Super Over from coming into play and New Zealand were knocked over only by the cruellest turns of cricket. The host nation will savour its moment of glory.

Also Read: Rift Between Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma?

Also Read: Ravi Shastri Breaks Silence On Sending Dhoni At No. 7

Also Read: How Much Did Sye Raa Digital, Satellite Rights Fetch: Chiranjeevi Movie Pre-Release Business At Peak

Also Read: Allu Arjun Dons A Wig For This Role

Back to Top