Who Will Win The Golden Bat In The ICC World Cup 2019? 

Who will win the Golden Bat?  - Sakshi Post

London: The ongoing ICC Men's Cricket World Cup will come to an end soon as three teams have already made their way to the semi-finals. With this, it is also much speculated that who will win the 'Golden Bat' and 'Golden Ball'.

Australia, India, England and New Zealand knew prior to Saturday’s final group matches that they would be in the top four and that all that was to be decided was the end of group standings. India registered a convincing seven-wicket win over Sri Lanka on Saturday at Headingley in Leeds in their final round robin fixture on Saturday. With the win, the men in blue became the joint second most successful team in World Cup with 53 wins over the years. Four-time champions Australia are at the top position in the list with 69 wins in World Cup.

It’s going to be India versus New Zealand in the first semifinal of the ICC World Cup on Tuesday, with hosts England taking on five-time defending champions Australia in the other on Thursday.

However, with the matches it is also somewhat clear the list of the players who will be receiving the Golden Bat and Golden Ball. Let us try to find out the top players who are the contenders for the award.

1. Rohit Sharma (India)

India may have lost the chance to reach the world cup finals but what is a source of solace is the fact that there is hope with respect to Indian cricketer winning the golden bat. Rohit Sharma leads with highest number of runs scored in the ongoing worldcup. He has 648 runs scored from nin matches to his credit. His average is 81 with a record five centuries and a half century.

2. David Warner (Australia)

After returning from the infamous ban, David Warner has been in great form. He has played 10 World Cup matches so far and has scored three centuries and three half-centuries. As of today David warner is a run behind Rohit with Shakib behind him in the third position with 606 runs

3. Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh)

In the eight innings that the Bangladeshi player has played, he has scored 606 runs with two centuries. The 32-year-old player has surpassed Sachin Tendulkar’s record of maximum runs scored in the group stages of the tournament (586 runs in 2003 World Cup).

4 Kane Williamson (New Zealand)

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson has a chance to overtake Rohit and win the golden bat. He has scored 548 so after and will win the golden bat, should be score a century in the World Cup final match on Sunday.

5. Aaron Finch (Australia)

In the nine matches that he has played, he has scored 507 runs, with two centuries. His highest score till now has been 153.

6. Joe Root (England)

In the ongoing World Cup and the nine innings he has played, he has three 50s and two centuries to him.

Also Read: MS Dhoni Run Out Video From World Cup Inspired By Terminator Angers Indian Cricket Fans

Also Read: What Happens If It Rains On India-New Zealand World Cup Match Day?

Also Read: ICC Tweet Draws Pakistan Fans’ Ire

Also Read: Birthday Bumps: MS Dhoni

Read More:

Back to Top