BJP loses big on strike rate too, wins only one in three seats

BJP loses big on strike rate too, wins only one in three seats - Sakshi Post

New Delhi: When it comes to the winning strike rate, Lalu Prasad's RJD has emerged victorious on eight of every ten seats it contested while only one of the every three BJP candidates managed to win.

Among four major parties, the RJD and the Congress have improved their respective strike rates, while the BJP's has fallen sharply from nearly 90 per cent to just 33 per cent. The JD-U has also seen its strike rate slip from 81 per cent to 70 per cent.

An analysis of Bihar poll results shows that BJP's allies, the Lok Jan Shakti Party and the Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular), were among the biggest losers in terms of their strike rates as they managed to win just about 7 per cent and 4 per cent of the seats they contested during the five-phase elections.

The RJD was on top with over 80 per cent strike rate, followed by about 70 per cent of the JD-U and the Congress' 65 per cent.

BJP's winning percentage was about 33 per cent although it had contested on as many as 157 seats -- maximum for any single party. The RJD and the JD-U had contested from 101 seats each while Congress candidates were in the fray across 41 Assembly constituencies.

The BJP had given 42 seats to Ram Vilas Paswan's LJP and 21 seats to the HAM(S).
In the last Assembly polls in 2010, the BJP had won 91 out of 102 seats it contested with a strike rate of nearly 90 per cent. The JD-U, on the other hand, had a lower strike rate at that time of 81 per cent (by winning 115 out of 141 seats), when it was in alliance with the BJP.

The RJD had at that point won 22 out of 168 seats (13 per cent) while Congress' performance was the worst with victory from only four out of 243 seats (1.6 per cent). Source: PTI

Read More:

Back to Top