Justice P Lakshmana Reddy Is AP Lokayukta  

Justice P Lakshmana Reddy Is AP Lokayukta - Sakshi Post

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy who is going all out to make AP a corruption-free state has decided to follow the A.P. Lokayukta (Amendment) Bill, 2019. The YSRCP govt has decided to appoint Former Justice P Lakshmana Reddy as Lokayukta of AP. As per the recent Lokayukta Amendment Act, the government has the power to appoint a retired chief justice or retired judge of the high court as Lokayukta of the state.

However, the Government has to approach the Chief Justice of the High Court to consult over the appointment of AP Lokayukta. High Court interim Chief Justice (ACJ) Chagari Praveen Kumar, who had recently examined the Lokayukta recruitment file, approved the appointment of Lakshman Reddy. Later the government also gave the green signal for his appointment and orders would be issued soon.

The Lokayukta has the right to investigate complaints received against the Deputy Chief Minister, Ministers and Parliamentary Members. Lokayukta has the right to question any MLA, MLC and can even complain to any officer appointed by the government for public affairs. ZP, Mandala Parishad Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, Sarpanch, Sub Sarpanch, Mayor, Deputy Mayor, Ward Members, Municipality Chairperson can also be investigated by Lokayukta. Lokayukta can conduct hearings over complaints received against The Municipality Chairperson and other members. Judges, judicial service members cannot come under Lokayukta.

Complaints received on any of the court officers and employees within the state will not come under the Lokayukta responsibilities, AP Accountant General, APPSP Chairman, Members and Elections Officers, Speaker, Deputy Speaker, Board Chairman, Deputy Chairman, APAT Chairman, and other members shall not be subject to prosecution by Lokayukta. The Complainant to Lokayukta has to complete Form 1 and 2 with his full details. The complainant can be prosecuted if it is found to be false. They can also be sentenced to a maximum of one year in imprisonment.

Also Read : IIIT Srikakulam Students Call AP CM ‘Mr Perfect CM’

Also Read : Dissent Within TRS Grows As Rasamayi Balakishan Echoes Etela’s Views

Read More:

Back to Top