Hyderabad: The one and three MLC seats that have been in Telangana and Andhra Pradesh respectively will go to polls on August 26. The Election Commission of India has issued a schedule to this effect on Thursday.

The notification for these elections will be released on August 7. Nominations will be received until August 14. They will be scrutinised on August 16. Withdrawal of nominations is until August 19. The polling will be held on August 26 from 9 AM to 4 PM. Counting will be taken up on the same day and results will be announced in the evening. The election schedule will be come to close on August 28.

These elections have been necessitated as Karanam Balrama Krishna Murthy and Alla Kali Krishna Srinivas (Alla Nani) in AP resigned as MLCs after winning as MLAs. With MLC Yadava Reddy being disqualified, elections for Telangana Legislative Council have become inevitable.

Also Read:Subsidised Rs 5 Canteens To Be Streamlined: Botsa Satyanarayana