Amaravati: YSR Congress Party MLA Kona Raghupathi was unanimously elected as the new Deputy Speaker of 15th Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly on Tuesday.

Ragupathi who field his nominations yesterday, was supported by ten party MLAs who signed his party nomination papers. His name was formally announced by the Speaker Tammineni Sitaram, who also called upon the leaders of the house to formally escort him to the Speaker podium.

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy came forward to greet the new Deputy Speaker and hugged him warmly.

The AP Assembly today witnessed another interesting scene as Leader of the Opposition and TDP Chief N Chandrababu Naidu also came forward and hugged Kona Raghupathi and greeted him. Both YS Jagan and Chandrababu along with several senior leaders escorted Raghupathi to the chair and congratulated him.

Check out the Pictures in the AP CMO Official Tweet.

It may be recollected that Chandrababu had not accompanied the leaders of the house when the Speaker's name was announced on the first day of the Assembly session. Instead, MLA Atchennaidu was sent to greet the Speaker. This sparked an uproar in the assembly over Chandrababu's discourteous behaviour.

Also Read: When Nara Lokesh Bumped Into Mangalagiri MLA Alla RK After Losing To Him

Kona Raghupati, was twice elected to Legislative Assembly on the YSRCP ticket from Bapatla Assembly constituency and his father Kona Prabhakar Rao was also the Assembly Speaker for combined state of Andhra Pradesh in 1980-81 during the Congress government.

Also Read:War Of Words Between Ruling Party-Opposition Leaders In AP Assembly

Also Read: YS Jagan Attends First Day of 33rd AP Legislative Council Session 2019